1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support droidx screen goes black when trying to activate?????

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wizim, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. wizim

    wizim Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    im trying to hand down my droid x to my wife. i did a master reset on it and everytime we try to do the activation call the screen goes black. the phone is working because it makes the call (you can hear it) but there is no screen. remove battery and try again...same result.
    master reset the phone again...same result.

    figured out that it will go black only during the phone call. i made the activation call. the screen went black. as soon as the call disconnected the screen popped back on.
    of course the phone was not activated in this call beacuse you need the screen to follow the prompts.


    any input?
     

    Advertisement

  2. wizim

    wizim Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    btw...
    i can connect with wi-fi.
    i installed the screen lock
    and touchpal keyboard to see if that would help. but it didnt.
     
  3. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    how bout this, when your trying to activate the phone next time, put it on speakerphone, and see if it turns off then
     
  4. wizim

    wizim Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    there is no option for speaker phone until the call is started
     
  5. wizim

    wizim Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    anyone???
     
  6. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    What was on your X when you wiped it? Stock rom (GB)? Custom rom?

    If you go to settings... about phone... what does the kernel say?

    I'm thinking you need to reset it again, and if that doesn't work maybe even sbf. (Sticky at top in root section.)
     
  7. wizim

    wizim Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    stock phone
     
  8. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    You didn't answer all my questions, but the answer is still the same.

    I'd recommend you sbf your phone which will get you to version 602, go to settings... about phone and check for updates. Take the online update (version 605), then you might want to factory reset after that, if you want it to be trouble free.
     
  9. wizim

    wizim Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    sorry i didnt answer all of the questions. i had the home hard button replaced because it was broken(reason i upgraded). i took it back tot he repair shop hoping that maybe when they had it apart something got in the way of the sensor that lets the phone know you are on it.
     
  10. grimesjo

    grimesjo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011

    Dec 29, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I had the same issue. If you hit activate, let the automated voice go thru her actions. should take about two minutes. after the machine realizes that you have not made a selection it will automatically default to option one and program your device. I still believe when i replace the screen on my DX i messed up the sensor because when i make any call the screen goes black...Still working on that and will post the final resolution when I have one.

    good luck
     

Share This Page

Loading...