1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

DROIDX Update 4.5.605 rolling out. Keyboard Bug Fixed??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mahers, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    Looks like the laggy keyboard should be getting fixed (for those that are experiencing it w/stock keyboard - but who uses that anyway :)), but looking at the size of this update, 113MB, I hope the root exploit isn't getting "fixed" along with it, as mentioned in the article. I have seen where folks took the update and were still able to root with the one click method.

    DROIDX Update to 4.5.605 is on the Way, the Keyboard Bug is Finally Getting Fixed

    Personally, I am on SwiftKey and don't have any issues, so no idea what the bug actually is.
     

    Advertisement

  2. FragDroidX

    FragDroidX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    820
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    820
    314
    113
    The update page says it could be up to 113 MB depending on which software version you are updating from and could be as little as 8 MB. The root exploit currently being used has NOT been closed according to P3Droid so it is still rootable. However I would wait to update to this as many people are reporting more bugs being introduced with this update than it fixes.
     
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Yeah I'm not touching this at all if it introduces more bugs.
     
  4. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I haven't had an keyboard issues, but maybe it's b/c I use a different keyboard. :D
     
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Roger that.

    I use thumb keyboard and have no issues.

    What do you use colchiro?
     
  6. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    I just don't want to touch it because it's Moto stock........ewwwwww!!! lol :p
     
  7. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    Wonder if they fixed the camera bug already! This might be our last shot.
     
  8. Hrethgir

    Hrethgir Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,684
    225
    163
    Male
    Intel fab tech
    Salem, OR
    No keyboard bugs here, using FlexT9. Hope this fixes the camera issue, tired of having to reset the resolution for still and video every time I open it.
     
  9. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    SwiftKey, I love it. Got it for free from Amazon market (app of the day). :D
     
    old.blue likes this.
  10. rfdesq

    rfdesq Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    52
    4
    16
    Swiftkey, paid for it before the free app of the day and love it.
     
  11. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    I would be hesitant to put 'keyboard bug fixed' in the title as we don't know if it will actually be fixed given Moto's track record with updates.
     
    mahers likes this.
  12. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    http://db.tt/k7CVCN1

    Install in standard recovery. Don't forget to rename your old update.zip before putting this on the sd card.
     
  13. mruno

    mruno Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    949
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    949
    180
    103
    Male
    Home
    is this ok to install on a rooted device?
     
  14. fender2469

    fender2469 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I thought this update was gonna roll out on the 19th???
     
  15. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    Updates will start pushing out today. That's a fact, and before you all start screaming you didn't get it, it will be a phased push as usual so it may be a day or two before you see the notification for it. I don't plan to do it yet, until I hear it isn't all jacked up. There is also mention of a Media Dock issue fix, but I have no details on that (I do know when I undock my phone, the speakerphone comes on!?!?).
     
  16. psipher

    psipher Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    42
    7
    26
    Male
    San Diego, CA
    I got the update today at 9:00am PST....no noticeable difference, but really haven't had time to play with it.
     
  17. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    Were you rooted before the update and are you still rooted??
     
  18. psipher

    psipher Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    42
    7
    26
    Male
    San Diego, CA
    I was un-rooted to start with.
     
    mahers likes this.
  19. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    Ok, thanks! I was looking for a rooted user's experience before I even think about this update.
     
  20. schimm

    schimm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    425
    60
    63
    If you are rooted, this thing is going to install itself anyway, isn't it? Will a rooted phone be unrooted and if that happens do you simply do the one click root method to re-root?
     
  21. SFWB

    SFWB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    427
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    427
    27
    53
    Male
    IT Hardware/Network Specialist
    Florida's Nature Coast
    That, is exactly what I would like to know as well.
     
  22. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    Also would like to know how rooted users upgrade?

    Any word if the camera bug was fixed too? Not very hopeful. It's got to be like 2 lines of code and they have acknowledged the bug, how they aren't fixing it is beyond me.
     
  23. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    They want you to buy a new Moto phone, that's why. I am starting to think these bugs are intentional.
     
  24. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    From a few other forums, I read that the camera bug is still there and the phone isn't all that much more improved. One key note: upgrading will remove root, but the one-click method will still give it back!
     
  25. schimm

    schimm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    425
    60
    63
    Sure boots up faster and is ready to roll more quickly. With all my apps/widgets loaded up my performance has seemed to have improved though there is no way to measure. Quadrant scores improved.

    BTW, in the ROM tool bx you can toggle freeze to the updater. Got this from another forum. Supposedly this will stop the update from loading. We'll see.
     

Share This Page

Loading...