1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Dropped s3 in toilet & it works fine BUT... camera's are blurry

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nikolaijayne, Jul 24, 2013.

1. nikolaijayne

nikolaijayne Lurker
    None

Jul 24, 2013
    Female
    England, UK
    I'm new to this so I hope someone can help me!!
    My s3 fell out of my back pocket and dropped in the toilet.... I've never done it before so I've no idea what to do. I left it turned off on a windowsill to dry off then a few hours later turned it on and everything worked fine, it even stayed working when I pulled it out of the water. I've been using it fine since yesterday (even charging it, woops!)
    BUT now I've just realized both the cameras have bubbles of water in them and pictures come out blurry...... I dismantled the phone and there were still droplets of water inside. Is it best at this point to put it in rice for a bit to dry out, and will it be enough to remove water from the camera? I've removed battery/sim/sd card etc. just need some advice what to do next!

Advertisement

2. SebaKL

SebaKL Android Enthusiast
    None

Oct 4, 2011
    Interactive Designer/Developer
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

I would turn it off right away, remove the battery, and cover it with rice in an container for couple of days. There is still water you can't see, in gaps between tiny components, corroding your device and causing damage.
    The rice should do a very decent job getting out what you can't do with tissue or by shaking it off.

nikolaijayne likes this.
  3. nikolaijayne

nikolaijayne Lurker
    None

Jul 24, 2013
    Female
    England, UK
    Thanks for your reply! I'll go buy some rice and do that straight away! Do I put the phone and battery in separately, instead of putting the battery back in? And will it be okay to use the SIM and SD Card in another phone for the time being? I really hope this works!

4. SebaKL

SebaKL Android Enthusiast
    None

Oct 4, 2011