• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Dumb Question (Theme Vs ROM) which has become misc theme stuff

tgulch22

Android Enthusiast
Feb 22, 2010
Perrysburg, OH
Ok what is the difference between a ROM and a theme.

I am still new to the rooting of the SF, and with my eris all I had to worry about was ROMs.

I have Dl09 Stupid fast 12.19 kernel and Dl09 radio, and currently running superdark v1. Was looking around to try out some other roms and stuff, and see themes and ROMs listed separately, what is the difference?

What I THINK the difference is is that TW is used and the theme just changes the apperance, while a ROM is a complete UI change

I am still new to the rooting of the SF, and with my eris all I had to worry about was ROMs.

I have Dl09 Stupid fast 12.19 kernel and Dl09 radio, and currently running superdark v1. Was looking around to try out some other roms and stuff, and see themes and ROMs listed separately, what is the difference?

What I THINK the difference is is that TW is used and the theme just changes the apperance, while a ROM is a complete UI change

a rom changes multiple aspects of the system from performance tweaks to ui changes...a theme just changes how apps/framework look (although we do package mods into them)

Upvote 0