1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Dumb wifi question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Gareee, Jul 22, 2010.

  1. Gareee

    Gareee Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #310
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    661
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    661
    31
    68
    WNC
    Am I correct in believing that wifi net connectivity is faster then g3? Loading the skin list for beautiful widgets seems to take forever either way. Downloading a skin seems to take a minute or two.

    I'm just trying to find the best settings for setting up our phones whilke at home with our home network.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    211
    37
    43
    Flo Rida
    Whether or not Wifi has faster access to the internet or not will depend on how fast your home/office connection is, but in theory yes even if you're on Wifi b/g it'll be much faster than 3G. Wifi uses less power than 3G as well, so if you have access to it I'd definitely recommend using it.


    The reason the skin list on beautiful widgets is taking a long time is because the guys server is overloaded right now.
     
  3. Gareee

    Gareee Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #310
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    661
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    661
    31
    68
    WNC
    We've got 30 meg download speeds here, so our home network is probably the way to go.

    I thought I was personally having an issue with BWSkins.
    Can't you download the skins on the pc, and then transfer them to the sd card? Even the preview list is taking a LONG time to load.
     
  4. CEV

    CEV Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    92
    3
    36
    I'll throw in another question here regarding Wi-Fi. Does the phone automatically use Wi-Fi when connected, or is there a setting somewhere to tell it to? Sorry if it's a dumb question, but I figure it does and just want to verify as I am new to Android.
     
  5. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    211
    37
    43
    Flo Rida
    If it's connected to a wifi network it'll prefer that for network connections instead of 3G automatically.
     
    CEV likes this.
  6. CEV

    CEV Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    92
    3
    36
    That's what I was thinking, but just wanted to verify.
    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...