1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Dumping Go Launcher EX for Zeam!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rafael, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. Rafael

    Rafael Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    522
    72
    78
    Self employed
    Virginia Beach, VA
    I really liked Go Launcher EX when I first tried it a few months ago.
    It was a nice step up from the poor Commando stock launcher app.

    Over time it has become a pretty good bit of bloatware.
    Large, slow, too many menu items added to the stock menu.
    More and more it appears to be a venue for selling other Go products.
    Nothing wrong with that....but I have no use for it.

    I am done with Go Launcher EX.


    Tried a few launchers tonight and settled on Zeam.
    https://market.android.com/details?id=org.zeam&hl=en

    It's small, only 388k. It's very fast. It has a simple menu.
    It works.....and I love minimalist programs. With the exception of icon replacement.....it does everything I liked about Go Launcher.

    Also....if you have de-binged.....it works with Google-search when you hit the hard search button.
     

    Advertisement

    rjglenn, cbreze and runsondiesel like this.
  2. BLACKTOOTHGRIN

    BLACKTOOTHGRIN Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    297
    22
    38
    Professional Pain In The A$$
    South of Heavan
    Hey Raf,

    I would've tried it out,
    but since you mentioned that you can't customize icons,
    well...you KNOW that's a deal breaker for me. :(
    Other than that it sounds good tho. :)
     
  3. bduemig

    bduemig Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011

    Sep 1, 2011
    35
    2
    16
    I am trying Zeam right now. It seems to be pretty fast. Thje one problem I seem to be having is that no matter what I set the home button to do in the preferences, hitting it takes you back to the screen you were on rather than the default screen.

    Is this a quirk with Zeam and the commando?
     
  4. Rafael

    Rafael Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    522
    72
    78
    Self employed
    Virginia Beach, VA
    BTG;
    Yeah....I forgot about you and your icon preference.
    Sorry, man!

    bduemig;
    You must set the function of the Home button in the Action-bindings menu as well as assigning the "default" screen in the Workspace menu.

    Mine works just fine. Commando running 2.3.3.
    I hope I helped!
     
  5. bduemig

    bduemig Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011

    Sep 1, 2011
    35
    2
    16
    I can't get it to work. No matter what choice I make for the home button, i9t acts like the return button and brings me back to the previous screen.

    I guess I will have to dump it and try to download again and see if that fixes it.
     
  6. Rafael

    Rafael Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    522
    72
    78
    Self employed
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Sorry for the trouble.
    If you like.....I can post all of my settings when I get home tonight.
    I am a bit busy at work.
     
  7. bduemig

    bduemig Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011

    Sep 1, 2011
    35
    2
    16
    Thanks for the info and help.

    This is not that much trouble at all, but unfortunately, I am a perfectionaist. I will fight with something to get it right even if it is extreemly minor.

    When I get home, I will dump what I have and download it again and see if that fixes it.
     
  8. Rafael

    Rafael Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    522
    72
    78
    Self employed
    Virginia Beach, VA
  9. bduemig

    bduemig Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011

    Sep 1, 2011
    35
    2
    16
    I figured it out. I needed to set Zeam as the default
     
  10. runsondiesel

    runsondiesel Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    91
    23
    18
    Houston Texas
    Rafael, where did you find Zeam? Excellent. Small, full featured. Outstanding! THANK YOU! I uninstalled GO after I replicated all my shortcuts and widgets.
     
  11. Rafael

    Rafael Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    522
    72
    78
    Self employed
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Did you notice the menu has a link to the app drawer?
    This means you can get rid of the app drawer shortcut on the dock bar at the bottom of the screen..... to make room for other items.

    Tip: If you only have four icons at the bottom "dock", change the item spacing on the Dock menu to "large" to space them apart a bit.
     
  12. Rafael

    Rafael Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    522
    72
    78
    Self employed
    Virginia Beach, VA
    I did a google search on my PC for the term "Android, launcher comparison", and got this:

    Android launcher showdown: LauncherPro, ADW, Zeam, GO Launcher and QuickDesk

    Nice comparison page.
    There are quite a few there that look interesting.
    Zeam caught my eye since it had both a good rating and was "minimalist".

    Glad to help...........I just stumbled across it. :)
     
  13. cbreze

    cbreze Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    425
    28
    63
    Central Oregon
    I am trialing zeam upon your recommendation raf. It does seem faster for sure, but curiously I notice less operating memory(RAM) available most of the time. It doesn't seem to affect any speed of it tho. I see as little as 109MB where go launcher would usually not go lower than about 150MB. Just android doing it's thing maybe. I'm going to keep trying it out.
     
  14. Rafael

    Rafael Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    522
    72
    78
    Self employed
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Interesting.
    What are you using to track memory use?
     
  15. cbreze

    cbreze Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    425
    28
    63
    Central Oregon
    Nothing fancy, I just have an icon set to open my running apps and can see at a glance what's being used and what's free. It fluctuates of course as the system ebbs and flows constantly. The last time I saw it drop that low I was using mobile shell. It doesn't seem like it should be doing this tho and I'm wondering what could be going on behind the scenes. So far it has topped out at a high of 165MB and a low of 109MB(free available RAM) I'll keep an eye on it. No question it's faster tho.
    FWIW: Launcher 7 leaves the most free available RAM at around 210MB most of the time.
     
  16. Rafael

    Rafael Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    522
    72
    78
    Self employed
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Mine is steady at 202meg free. But I am rooted and debloated.
     
  17. cbreze

    cbreze Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    425
    28
    63
    Central Oregon
    So being rooted does that more or less maintain a steadier level of free RAM?
    because mine fluctuates alot(unrooted). It doesn't seem to matter one way or the other in performance. I did reboot my commando and saw the free jump to 224MB then slowly drop. Now below 190MB. I don't think it matters as long as there is enough to run the system. I do like the simplicity of zeam tho.
     
  18. Rafael

    Rafael Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    522
    72
    78
    Self employed
    Virginia Beach, VA
    I doubt it helps, other than the fact that I probably have less apps running since I removed many of them.
     
  19. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    Good find Rafael.
     
  20. Rafael

    Rafael Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    522
    72
    78
    Self employed
    Virginia Beach, VA
    rjglenn;
    Sorry I have not been around much.
    Been pretty busy.
     
  21. cbreze

    cbreze Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    425
    28
    63
    Central Oregon
    doing much better in the RAM dept now. 220's to 230's seems normal now. No clue what was going on before. Great laumcher!
     
  22. Rafael

    Rafael Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    522
    72
    78
    Self employed
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Yeah, mine is running about the same as yours......that 202 figure I gave was lower than usual.
     
  23. cbreze

    cbreze Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    425
    28
    63
    Central Oregon
    I must say, what an awesome find. Zeam is so fast and responsive, no issues yet with it at all. I had never heard of it before and I usually keep an eye out for this sort of app. I thought go launcher was nice, it is, but zeam has it beat for action and pure simplicity. :)
     
  24. Rafael

    Rafael Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    522
    72
    78
    Self employed
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Agreed!

    I was thinking about suggesting they get rid of most of the items in the menu.
    "Applications" and "settings" are the only items that need to be there.

    Search is redundant since we have a hard search key.
    Preferences, Add, and Wallpaper can be reached with a long-press on the screen.
     

Share This Page

Loading...