1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

DVD to DROID Converter Beta

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dotheweb, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. dotheweb

    dotheweb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    8
    0
    25
    Good Morning,

    Just thought I would let the Android Forums community know that the DVD to DROID project I have been working on for a while is now available as a public beta. I wrote it to be specific for the DROID, and tried to make it as easy as possible.

    If you are interested in trying out this out, you can visit the link in my signature below.

    It took a little longer to get done then originally hoped, but seems to work pretty well. Please check it out and if you encounter any bugs, please report them by using post in the Help menu in the program, or reply here and I will try to help you.

    Enjoy! Thanks and have a great day.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jestexman

    jestexman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    393
    30
    43
    Mapping Specialist
    SE Dallas
    Sounds great to me where is the DL link i don't see it on your web page?
    I found it.
    (newsletter)
     
  3. phildo2004

    phildo2004 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    6
    0
    25
    American Eagle store associate
    springfield, ohio
    i downloaded a movie off of frostwire on my mac and put it on my sd card and i have sound but no pic when i play it on my droid does anyone know of any video converter that will allow me to play it on my droid?
     
  4. GorillaTheHutt

    GorillaTheHutt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    227
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    227
    40
    43
    SF, CA
    i use MediaCoder: MediaCoder - more than a universal audio/video transcoder - MediaCoder official website

    with a custom preset i made for the droid (attached). that should be able to handle pretty much any format you throw at it.

    dotheweb's program looks very nice for easy DVD conversions.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. iFrostyy

    iFrostyy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    131
    2
    36
    Arizona
    This is very useful

    Nice make bro
     
  6. seethesvt

    seethesvt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    102
    3
    36
    i did it and loaded war of the worlds, but only got the menu screen loaded on my phone... whats the deal with that?:thinking:

    nevermind, just had to follow directions...

    anyways... theres 5.5 hours left of downliad time for this movie and i have to leave for work in an hour. does my phone have to be connected to it the whole time? thats quit the lengthy process...
     
  7. dotheweb

    dotheweb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    8
    0
    25
    5.5 hours is a long time. Unless your PC is kinda old, i'm guessing the DVD converter is having trouble reading your disc. You can connect your droid anytime during the conversion, if you don't have it connected, it will ask you to connect when it is finished.

    The file gets saved to your hard drive, usually in the My Documents/ DROID Videos folder. So if you don't connect your droid you can always copy it over later.
     
  8. misan23

    misan23 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    55
    31
    23
    Just tried mediacoder with multiple videos, thing couldn't transcode one of them. 6 different AVIs, 2 mpegs and even another mp4 that plays just fine on my droid already. Every single one came up with error 14.
     
  9. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Thanks for the heads-up. Installing right now ... I'll give it a try soon.
     
  10. droidx

    droidx Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    68
    0
    15
    Cleveland,OH
    use handbrake, works great for dvd to mp4, i love it
     
  11. benluc79

    benluc79 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    Macon, IL
    I don't suppose this is compatible with macs is it
     
  12. TiberiusX

    TiberiusX Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    North Carolina
    I'm now using this program for all my DVD to Droid video conversions. Just follow the directions and it works beautifully!! No settings to mess with, just let the program run and it will even transfer the file to my Droid automatically. I'm running Vista 64 and had a problem when I used it the first day it was released, but I let the Dev know and within 24 hours he Emailed me and it was fixed!! Never expected that from a free program. Keep up the good work!
     
  13. dotheweb

    dotheweb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    8
    0
    25
    No, sorry its for Windows only.
     
  14. BucYouUp68

    BucYouUp68 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    373
    27
    43
    System Admin
    Florida
    Used It Last Night, Converted the Mothman Prophecies no Problems. Watched it at work. Great Product here.....thanks
     
  15. seethesvt

    seethesvt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    102
    3
    36
    my email had been bombarded with spam since I gave it to this guy for this thing. its the first time ive given out that email address to anyone... so, im pretty unhappy with that.thanks buddy, I really appreciate it.
     
  16. dotheweb

    dotheweb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    8
    0
    25
    Sorry bud, that wasn't me.

    How did the program work for you?
     
  17. cunningstunts

    cunningstunts Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    20
    0
    15
    Dotheweb, I gotta say, the program works great. I was able to use it for the first time today and it was simple and slick with great results.

    I used my yahoo mail address and since I entered it for this program, I have been getting a TON of spam. I thought it was a coincindence, but I see the guy above had the same issue.

    I really know nothing about web sites and hosting, but is it possible that the problems with spam could be coming from something other than what you control? Maybe it is a coincidence, but it might be worth looking into.

    I love the product, and I greatly appreciate it. I will definately be donating. Thanks!
     
  18. THEHYLAND

    THEHYLAND Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    ENG/PARAMEDIC
    FLORIDA
    Thanks I used it three times worked great on two of the moives. It took over 18 hrs for the one movie to convert. The computer is a gateway netbook, brand new. My other comp. now is another story. It takes about 4-6 hours so far. Yes old. The one movie I did with the gate way Master and comander is also all jumbled up. I only got to look at it for few min. this am. So question should I try to use like dvd43 and retry. I plan on retrying on the desk top. I do have to say very easy to use and the picture is great. But I will need to try couple more movies before I donate. I already bought two programs that don't work well.

    Thanks for all your hard work.
    THEHYLAND :D
     
  19. Timmaaay4

    Timmaaay4 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    52
    0
    35
    sales
    where is the down load link on the page?
     
  20. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    You have to enter an email signing up for the newsletter to get a download link mailed to you.

    1 question - does it work only for DVDs or Blu-Ray as well?
     
  21. jaliance

    jaliance Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010

    Jan 30, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I used this program to convert Max Payne, sound and picture were great, file was 640mb...Awesome product, super easy to use.

    It was a Wide screen movie so I had black bars on top and bottom. Is there anyway to get rid of black bars? I would love to maximize the droids 3.7 screen.
     
  22. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    Running perfectly here. Thanks for a great program!!!
     
  23. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I had the same issue when converting a Blu-Ray disc of GI Joe using Handbrake - the black bands are small, though, so I am not too worried, and I suspect that there is now way to get rid of them without altering the aspect ratio of the movie. AFAICT, the app does not allow for aspect ratio adjustments, but I may be wrong....
     
  24. dotheweb

    dotheweb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    8
    0
    25
    The DROID screen is closest to the standard widescreen (16:9). The bars will be on the top and bottom for any movie that is Cinematic Widescreen (2.39:1).
    I didn't want to crop or stretch because things might look a little funny.

    I'm glad that it is working well for some. Thanks for trying it out.
     
  25. THEHYLAND

    THEHYLAND Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    ENG/PARAMEDIC
    FLORIDA
    Man, Thank you very much. I redid Master and Commander on the older computer. Works great. What was happening with the netbook was it would go into sleep mode and screw everything up. I changed the settings and it still slow but works great. I did another three or four movies. They look great. The pic and sound match up also, great. I plan on doing a couple more long movies and see what happens. If all works out great I plan to donate. Again thanks, Yes handbrake works but this is simple and easy.

    THEHYLAND:D
     

Share This Page

Loading...