1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command+2.2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bobomatic, Aug 21, 2010.

  1. bobomatic

    bobomatic Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    331
    17
    38
    Male
    Bullhead City AZ
    So, has anyone with this error been able to push the update through?
    i read (cant find it now) that this has something to do with OTA updates. the way i understood it was, this is a folder Verizon looks for during an update. so if thats true would it cause me to get stuck in on the MOTO LOGO screen?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ECFfighter7232

    ECFfighter7232 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    1,493
    336
    163
    Maryland
    I get that same error at a different screen. I got 2.2 to work on mine. it runs fine, but when I do a power cycle off to back on, I get stuck on the moto logo. I have to pull the battery, then reboot into recovery mode and it says that
    E: cant open /cache/recovery/command
    but I click on reboot phone and it starts up fine
     
  3. meshdub

    meshdub Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    21
    2
    36
    My brother in law had the same thing. He flashed sbf, cleared cache, did factory reset, and after that was able to install 2.2 just fine.
     
  4. johnhancock

    johnhancock Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    21
    1
    16
    That message is arbetrary.

    It wont cause any problems or anything. Just ingnore it.
     
  5. ericnail

    ericnail Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    632
    137
    93
    Dr.
    Alpharetta, GA

    What he said ^
     
  6. bobomatic

    bobomatic Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    331
    17
    38
    Male
    Bullhead City AZ
    well, then why the hell cant i get 2.2 to load? I know i'm no Birdman, but i dont lick the windows on the short bus either..and ive tried like 6/7 times..
     
  7. bigbphone

    bigbphone Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I was trying to update to 2.2.

    When i did the update it failed due to apply_patch_check CityId.apk. I am guessing I renamed that when I rooted. Now I get stuck on the motorola logo and I did a wipe/data factory reset and wipe cache parition. Also I tried the option to reboot system now and it still wont load.

    Any ideas? Is it bricked? Can i do anything?
     
  8. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    ya got to flash the sbf
     

Share This Page

Loading...