1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General E vs. 4G

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by K2CLH, Jan 2, 2014.

  1. K2CLH

    K2CLH Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014

    Jan 2, 2014
    6
    0
    5
    I recently signed up for a TMobile plan that included data. I will be going through an area and it will say 4/4 bars of service but instead of 4G it will just say E. What is this?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Probably out in the boonies where there's no 4G (or even 3G) service yet. They don't upgrade areas where no one human lives (chipmunks don't pay their bills), and very few people pass through. Remember, there are still some areas of the country in which there's no service at all - not even voice - so having even minimal data isn't the worst that can happen. (And if I read your name correctly, "no service at all" really means no service on only one of your communications devices, as far as you're concerned, right?)
     
    K2CLH likes this.
  3. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Depending on who you ask, e (i assume edge) is is either a 3g or pre-3g technology.
     
    K2CLH likes this.
  4. K2CLH

    K2CLH Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014

    Jan 2, 2014
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks for the replies guys! Yes, phone is only one of my communication methods. I have not ever seen 3G. Either 4G or this E thing. It is slower for sure so I guess it doesn't matter what it stands for it just matters how fast it is. It was so slow that when I ran a speed test the speed tester said network communication error. It took 30+ seconds to load Google and Google works hard to have a very quick homepage.
     

Share This Page

Loading...