1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Early thoughts on 4G speed and coverage

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by iamfunkyz, Jun 5, 2010.

  1. iamfunkyz

    iamfunkyz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    89
    19
    18
    Chicago, IL
    After a day 1 with the the Evo, my feelings are mixed in regards to 4G. When I can get a signal, its great. But that's the thing, holding a 4G signal for long is tough. It seems to only be useful if you're sitting somewhere with a solid signal. It works great in my living room, but awful in my bedroom 15 feet away. I plan to test it throughout Chicago over the next couple weeks. I'm currently using the internet sharing feature via usb and getting great speeds.

    [​IMG]

    Unfortunately, it appears the internet sharing feature has been disabled for 3G tethering.
     

    Advertisement

  2. tech1greek

    tech1greek Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    33
    2
    16
    Student / IT Specialist
    According to the coverage maps both locations I am frequently at are the "best" of WiMax coverage yet I get no signal - 1 bar if lucky. Not worth it IMO at this point at all.

    Everything else is great though, going from Rooted Hero, this thing flys with the stock Sprint Rom.
     
  3. BetterMost

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    1,066
    119
    163
    Paramedic
    Northern Illinois
    I'm a bit confused. Is it supposed to say 4 g at the top of the screen where it says 3g? How do you know you are connected to 4g?
     
  4. KoukiFC3S

    KoukiFC3S Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    881
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009

    Aug 9, 2009
    881
    85
    78
    CA
    It will say 4G.
     
  5. iamfunkyz

    iamfunkyz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    89
    19
    18
    Chicago, IL
    it will say 4g instead of 3g, and it won't have the up and down arrows. Instead it will have 3 arches radiating out to represent the signal strength. I'm sure there's a screen shot around here somewhere.
     
  6. tomq

    tomq Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    thats better than my home interwebs lol [​IMG]
     
  7. iamfunkyz

    iamfunkyz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    89
    19
    18
    Chicago, IL
    Well then you're really gonna hate this because i just got a new high :D

    [​IMG]
     
  8. chcougar1

    chcougar1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    90
    1
    16
    DAAANG those are some ridiculous speeds. I tested an EVO 4G at a sprint store here in Issaquah (likely on the outskirts of the 4G coverage in seattle) and it was only doing about 2.35 down, .4 up.

    Unfortunately for me I live just outside the 4G coverage for Seattle right now. Oh well there is always wifi at home if needed.
     
  9. secretmethod70

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    73
    8
    16
    chicago
    This is great to see since I'm also in Chicago. Seems like there's nothing to worry about here :D
     
  10. BetterMost

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    1,066
    119
    163
    Paramedic
    Northern Illinois
    Hmmm I checked the coverage map and my house is right in the 4g coverage green area but I see no 4g coming up on my screen only 3 g.
     
  11. Sketchr

    Sketchr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    411
    141
    68
    Male
    Hope 4G is complete by then end of summer for the Twin City area:D
     
  12. muncher

    muncher Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    88
    16
    18
    downtown philly 17th floor facing west stationary. getting 400-500 kb/sec steady with 100ms ping. very awesome.
     
  13. Yeah_Buddy

    Yeah_Buddy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Make sure that you turn the 4g on. I've been having no problem with mines.
     
  14. Enellz

    Enellz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    53
    2
    16
    Louisville, Ky
    Some reviewers did say the 4G signal doesn't penetrate deep.inside buildings. I'm gonna try when I go back home to Baltimore/ DC metro.
     
  15. swazedahustla

    swazedahustla Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    178
    28
    43
    BMORE.......4G ALL DAY
    Well im in bmore, and lets just say you are gonna love it!!!!
     
  16. evoq

    evoq Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    32
    12
    18
    I had the clear spot wifi hotspot not long ago with Clear's 4G service in Chicago. Whenever that device was close to the At&t ADSL wifi router, its speed used to go down dramatically. Even a few steps away from the router would improve the speed considerably (2x). I wonder if you have the same sort of interference issue with a wifi router nearby.
     
  17. mx7

    mx7 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    142
    25
    43
    nice! where exactly in chicago?
     
  18. evofrompre

    evofrompre Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    40
    1
    16
    How does one do this speed test? Is it an app?
     
  19. Enellz

    Enellz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    53
    2
    16
    Louisville, Ky
    Sounds good. I'm driving back up next month, and with the.new phone I'm looking forward to it
     
  20. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,882
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,882
    3,480
    923
  21. evofrompre

    evofrompre Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    40
    1
    16
    I got:
    Download speed is: 149.0 Kbit/s
    Max speed is: 198.3 Kbit/s

    Upload speed is: 83.4 Kbit/s
    Max speed is: 136.0 Kbit/s

    Does that even make sense?

    BTW, I am in NW burbs Chicago (shows 4G map coverage).
     
  22. burgertime

    burgertime Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    426
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    426
    260
    108
    Social Media Manager
    Charlotte, NC
    Yea when I can get signal it's blazing. Funny little story, on every carriers coverage map for 3g and voice they have my house in the best area...however it's a dead zone for every single carrier. Same thing for 4g. My house is in the "best" area as I'm very close to down town, yet I get nary a bar of 4g. I bet if I go up to the main street by my house I'll have 4 bars lol.
     
  23. evofrompre

    evofrompre Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    40
    1
    16
    OK, now I went to speedtest.net and I got the results box. Now this is weird. I got download 0.50 Mb/s and Upload 0.21 Mb/s with Ping 409. ISP Sprint PCS and .......SERVER: Wichita, KS Distance ~ 50 mi

    Wichita, KS??? I'm near Chicago. Why does it say Wichita, KS...and what can I do about this? Help!!!
     
  24. rfss

    rfss Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    47
    15
    18
    Yeah whereabouts are you? I live in Wicker Park and I can't seem to get above 4 Mbps with Clear, though I don't have my EVO yet so I've been unable to test it.
     
  25. rfss

    rfss Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    47
    15
    18
    Are you sure you're in 4G signal? That sounds like 3G.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...