1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Earpiece Cutting In and Out

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by k425, Jul 30, 2011.

  1. k425

    k425 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    18
    4
    16
    Has anyone else had their Photon's ear piece and or speaker phone cut in and out during calls? I thought I read a posting here stating that someone else had this problem. It's pretty bad on mine, but through the ear piece and also speakerphone. I am not sure what is causing this.

    Also it seems to be dropping every other call which is strange because it is connected to my Airave. Thoughts anyone?
     

    Advertisement

  2. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    6,184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    6,184
    5,047
    923
    Male
    Database Programmer, Sprint Advocate
    Queens, NY
    Nothing on my end, and I've called everyone and their mother about this phone using the phone and no cut off or drop outs.

    TS
     
  3. DMC-12

    DMC-12 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    27
    5
    16
    Chicago
    No such problems here either.
     
  4. reddragon72

    reddragon72 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    223
    55
    53
    My current brand new Evo 4G hardware version 0004 does the same thing, but it seems that it only does it when I talk, a loud noise around me happens, or the wind cuts across the mic. It is very odd, and I had the same issue on my Vibrant on T-Mobile.

    I am hoping that I don't have this issue with the my photon as well, but at this point I am pretty much used to it.
     
  5. k425

    k425 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    18
    4
    16
    Well I tried a Profile Update and I got something like a "com non-fatal error". Then I tried a PRL update and I guess it updated it and the 2 calls since have been crystal clear with no drop outs on either the ear piece or speakerphone. Prior and during the PRL update the signal strength indicator was really fluctuating, jumping up and down like crazy.

    So we will see if this stays fixed. I will let you know.
     
    drexappeal and EarlyMon like this.
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Usually a good idea to update Profile after PRL. If it continues to grief you rather than do as it should, not a bad idea to try a 60-second battery pull and try again. (Profile update is such a good idea that it's the next step after PRL update when you call Sprint for assistance with a phone reprovisioning or activation (if the rep is on the ball, most all are)).
     
  7. k425

    k425 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    18
    4
    16
    Update. The cutting out came back so i did a factory data reset but still the issue persisted. Seems like its an issue with my Airave. Went out to run errands and all calls were completely fine. Back home now and will test with Airave again.
     
  8. k425

    k425 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    18
    4
    16
    2nd Update: Made test calls at home again connected to Airave. Calls we ok no cutting out or dropping (although it sounded like it was close to doing that). Signal Strength meter was 1 bar while I was 10 feet away from the Airave looking right at it. So it looks like it is a Photon (Motorola) / Airave (Samsung) issue possibly.

    Anybody else with Sprint Motorola phones and have issues connecting the the Samsung Airave (1st generation) Femtocell?
     
  9. ZEROpcs

    ZEROpcs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    82
    2
    16

    A buddy of mine got an HTC Arrive (Windows) through his work and had nothing but issues with his Gen 1 Airrave, calls choppy and flat out drops... He called airrave support and they sent him a new airrave (the one that does data) and everything has been perfect...
     
    drexappeal likes this.
  10. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    FYI - I've been having problems with my airrave (only recently) and my cousins that have it have been having the same issues too. I've been too lazy to look into it, but I heard there's a problem (and I have one of the original versions, not the more recent version).
     
  11. tedya

    tedya Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I am having issues with my Photon connected to my 3G Airave. Incoming and Outgoing calls will sometimes fail and my phone won't send SMS messages. When I turn off the Airave, everything works fine. There must be a software glitch between the Airave and the Photon and I think it is with the Airave.
     

Share This Page

Loading...