1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Earpiece Volume too loud

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dw0095, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. dw0095

    dw0095 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    55
    2
    36
    Grant Administrator
    Upstate, NY
    Does anyone else ever notice that the volume on the ear piece while on a call is way too loud at times?

    This happens periodically and is fixed with a restart but I can't figure out why it happens. I will get an incoming call and almost blow out my eardrum...try to turn it down and it's all the way down. I have to put the ear piece on my cheak to bear the volume.

    anxiosly waiting for the update that is coming...
     

    Advertisement

  2. sooper_droid12

    sooper_droid12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    1,228
    73
    128
    Get a Nexus One, the ear piece volume is nearly imperceptible, especially off-center :)
     
  3. dw0095

    dw0095 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    55
    2
    36
    Grant Administrator
    Upstate, NY
    I had to look up that word on dictionary.com ;)
    This phone is so great for so many other things that I just learned to deal with the bugs and annoyances.
     
  4. skunkpbguy

    skunkpbguy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    296
    8
    56
    Retail
    Springfield, MO
    get the app called AudioManager widget, you can edit each type of volume to your liking.
     
  5. Legacystar

    Legacystar Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    571
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    571
    28
    68
    ummmm did you try this, if it's too loudh.......turn it down with the supplied volume rocker....i mean really dude.....
     
  6. dw0095

    dw0095 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    55
    2
    36
    Grant Administrator
    Upstate, NY
    totally brah, like did you read my post dude?
    I use the supplied volume rocker to turn it down and it is all the way down.

    totally dude.
     
  7. stephejo

    stephejo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    59
    1
    36
    Atlanta, GA
    I have the same problem. Moto Droid on 2.1

    In-Call Volume full blast. Rocker switch does not lower the call volume (but the bar does show it going down).

    THis is terrible.
     
  8. teschoen

    teschoen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    149
    1
    36
    I have that problem if I have headphones plugged in... just sometimes. The volume will be all the way down and yet it is still way too loud. I suppose I need some headphones with inline volume control to help with that.
     
  9. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    521
    17
    83
    NW.Indiana U.S.A.
    Where you guys rooted at one time?
     
  10. stephejo

    stephejo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    59
    1
    36
    Atlanta, GA
    No root. Using Audiomanager app as of today. We'll see if it helps. Very annoying problem.
     
  11. teschoen

    teschoen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    149
    1
    36
    nope, bone stock. So far on 2.1 I haven't had the problem.
     
  12. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    373
    14
    38

    Dislike. Wish there was a thumbs down button just for your response.

    Anyway...same problem here on occasion. Droidmod 1.0.
     
  13. megaera

    megaera Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    149
    21
    38
    Houston, TX
    Interesting, in a bad way. I wonder if Volume Locker would help. I'm not sure it does anything different from AudioManager. Here are some questions I have that might help narrow stuff down (should the apps not be effective). Is the problem intermittent? Do you ever use headphones? Do you notice if it happens with certain callers, or is it completely random? My profoundest sympathies; that sucks.
     
  14. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    521
    17
    83
    NW.Indiana U.S.A.
    The only time you can change the incall volume is during a call. I wish there was a different place/time that it could be adjusted.
     
  15. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #230
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    875
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    875
    208
    93
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC
    I use a program call Setting Profiles that will switch many phone options based on conditions that you set. It has an In-Call Volume setting, so there must be a way to set it, but I can't find it anywhere but there.

    BigRedGonzo
     
  16. teschoen

    teschoen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    149
    1
    36
    The problem isn't not being able to set the volume... the In Call volume setting is at the lowest possible point. The problem is that EVEN at the lowest setting the phone can be too loud. Again it isn't all the time for me, but man Droid Does have the ablitiy to be LOUD
     
  17. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    521
    17
    83
    NW.Indiana U.S.A.
    I wish at times, mine was louder.lol
     
  18. dw0095

    dw0095 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    55
    2
    36
    Grant Administrator
    Upstate, NY
    I've never rooted...and it has happened again with 2.1
    figure it is just letting me know it's time for a reboot. that fixes it for a day or two.

    I was thinking about trying to exchange my droid for a different one that has the bubbly physical keyboard, maybe this will be my "technical reason". :-/

    pics of my buddies droid with the superior keyboard
    look at those babies!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Scythe

    Scythe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    106
    27
    43

    Volume Locker will alert you/flip the volume back if it was changed while the phone is on. It does allow you to freely change the volume in-call. So, if an app is changing your volumes behind the scenes and you don't know it, it'll notify you and reset it back to the last setting.

    In call volume is only setable during a call, or by an app through the AudioManager.

    It should never reset between shutting down and starting up the phone, so I'll guess that you have an app misbehaving. There's lots of apps which don't understand the volume controls properly.

    Let me know if you have any questions :)
     
  20. clarab

    clarab Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    My JawBone II and my Droid have this problem; the in-call volume doesn't actually change (it's crazy deafeningly loud) regardless of pressing volume controls up/down and the screen showing the volume is quiet/loud. I'm trying to solve this so I don't have to return my JawBone II.

    Any help is most appreciated.
     

Share This Page

Loading...