• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Easiest way to remove the crapware?

jareth

Apr 22, 2010
So my phone is running 2.2 and is rooted. I'm a bit of a newb when it comes to this; what's the simplest way to remove the crapware, now that I can. Is there an app, or is it a more messy hands-on process?

Either way, I can't wait to flush VZnav and City ID down the toilet they clawed their way out of ;)

Easiest way is to install one of the froyo roms with all the bloatware removed.

I would recommend Virtuous for you. It's basically the stock froyo rom but with little fixes and improvments.

Here is the link: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=765447

This looks interesting, but is so far beyond my limited ability/knowledge (and I suspect about 99.9% of users as well) that I wouldn't go near it.

It there a simpler way?

Upvote 0
Installing a rom is even easier than rooting, just download rom manager from the market, and select the virtuous rom, if you are coming from stock 2.2 you probably can get away with not wiping your data BUT DO A BACKUP! And make sure you have about 1gb free on your sdcard

Rom manager? Virtuous Rom? Damn..don't even know how to back up! :eek: That is lame.... Wouldn't mind finding a reputable local service to do this without violating the warranty. Besides, how would this work with the inevitable hot fixes & more soon to come out?

Upvote 0