1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Easiest way to root GT540 running 2.1! Now EVERYONE can root!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Nirob, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. Nirob

    Nirob Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    539
    167
    93
    Planet Earth
    As you have the Superuser icon, you are now rooted... :D Sorry I can't help with apps2sd anyfurther as I didn't do it... :( try reading that thread to the end and if you can't find a solution try asking them... What i know is if you have installed the Modem Driver in your PC, the tools can't connect with the phone... and about the SD card, you can remove it while your phone is turned off.. But, if you turn on while the SD card is removed your phone will crash, as apps2sd adds the part of the sd as phone memory...
     

    Advertisement

  2. Nirob

    Nirob Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    539
    167
    93
    Planet Earth


    To change your bootanimation, you need an app called Bootanimation Changer.. with the free version their are some bootanimation that you can select.. and with the Paid version you can select your own bootanimation(Availble in many websites)... I replaced the YouTube app with newer version... i also replaced the 3D Gallery with the old 2D Gallery which i think is better...(I updated the Market also, but it doesn't need root or apps)

    **EDIT: Check here how to change Boot Animation easily: http://androidforums.com/lg-optimus-gt540/261469-change-your-boot-animation-d.html
     
  3. sazaaa123

    sazaaa123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010

    Dec 10, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    should i use temparary root or permanent root?
     
  4. Nirob

    Nirob Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    539
    167
    93
    Planet Earth
    Temporary root means your phone will unroot when your device is restarted... So, I recommend that you use permanent root, as you can unroot anytime you want using z4root...
     
    TableTop97 and Snokio like this.
  5. nill0076

    nill0076 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    26
    1
    16
    Student
    Rajkot, Gujarat, India
    Thanks nirob.....
     
  6. Nirob

    Nirob Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    539
    167
    93
    Planet Earth
    Welcome... Please use the thanks button..
     
    s-g-p likes this.
  7. jamiemac2005

    jamiemac2005 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Thanks Nirob, worked like a charm.
     
  8. djpailo

    djpailo Member
    Rank:
     #1,936
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    39
    0
    15
    So I download the root app from your upload and it just says it cant find any application to open it. :thinking:
     
  9. Nirob

    Nirob Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    539
    167
    93
    Planet Earth
    You used the default browser to download?? Then it'll say that... Just ignore it and finish the download.... Open your favourite file manager & go to sdcard, find it and install...
     
  10. pegasus 123

    pegasus 123 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    11
    2
    36
    carer
    wednesbury
    hi
    I have down loaded the z4root apk from your upload to my laptop. do i have to transfer the file onto the sd card of the phone and run from there?
    Sorry if i am being a bit thick as i have never done this before and i want to be sure before i do anything that may mess up the phone.
    Mark
     
  11. Nirob

    Nirob Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    539
    167
    93
    Planet Earth
    Move to SD & install it with your File Manager...

    Don't worry, feel free to ask :D
     
    roastpotato, Tokahara and pegasus 123 like this.
  12. pegasus 123

    pegasus 123 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    11
    2
    36
    carer
    wednesbury
    Thanks for your help its all done now.
    Mark
     
  13. alder191

    alder191 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010

    Oct 16, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    hi will this still work even though my phone is running on version 1.6
     
  14. sudipta das

    sudipta das Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    32
    0
    35
    Teaching
    Kolkata, West Bengal, India.
    I will write a totally different view about this phone called LG OPTIMUS GT540. According to me, why should I experiment with my phone in such a way? Why not the company itself does that for us? Why should we take such risks where anyone who is not a tech savvy, like me, should carry on such experiments with this phone of 11,000.00 INR? After purchasing the phone why should we take such pain? It seems worse when it is reported that if you make a mistake, the phone will be severely damaged!!!! My nokia phones like nokia 5200, nokia 7710, nokia x3 which run on symbian OS are much better where you can easily view the microsd and can copy whatever you wish to it without that nagging ROOT, UNLOCK, TITANIUM BACKUP, CHINESE STUFF, ROOT EXPLORER, etc...etc....At times, I feel disgusted with this device.
     
  15. Nirob

    Nirob Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    539
    167
    93
    Planet Earth
  16. Nirob

    Nirob Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    539
    167
    93
    Planet Earth
    As a example, This is the reason why Windows has tons of virus where linux has a little few...

    Root isn't a serious thing... Google is already eager to supply users pre-rooted Android device but carriers & manufacturers don't want that... Root can leave the OS in risk if the user don't be careful or don't know about Android... And, if the user is a noob, they will keep bricking the device trying new interesting thing... Viruses effect Symbian OS & Android has no virus... As you can play with Android, you can't play with the other OSes... These modifying process are critical, but can you think these in other OSes? Nope, you can't...

    If you are disgusted about Android, never touch an iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch...
     
  17. tonuppirate

    tonuppirate Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Thanks soo much been trying to root my carphone warehouse phone for ages!! Awesome!! :D
     
  18. Schnappi

    Schnappi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    It worked! No idea why as I spent all morning installing and trying out various versions of z4root and got stuck at the USB debugging request. Thank you!:D
     
  19. hitman87

    hitman87 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010

    Dec 13, 2010
    55
    0
    15
    India
    i rooted my phone using z4root.. thanks..
    after rooting, i installed app2sd.. it showed 'finished' and then i restarted my phone as i was asked to do..
    But i cant see app2sd in applications..
    please help me.. if possible give me step-by-step procedure.. i m new to android thing..
    i will be grateful to you..
     
  20. Nirob

    Nirob Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    539
    167
    93
    Planet Earth
    Please don't make multiple posts... We'll try to help if we can... One post is enough... Multiple post will make others confused + it makes the thread bigger... Thanks..
     
  21. nikolas_dot

    nikolas_dot Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011

    Jan 9, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    hello guys, i have managed to root my gt540 and now i want to uninstall some applications. Could you tell me if i will do anything wrong if i uninstall:

    1) App Advisor
    2) Latitude
    3) Talk
    4) Foursquare
    5) Wapedia
    6) Facebook for LG
    7) Twitter for LG
    8) Layar
    9) Shazam
    10) The Sims 3
     
  22. Nirob

    Nirob Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    539
    167
    93
    Planet Earth
    Don't uninstall Latitude & Talk...

    To remove Facebook for LG & Twitter for LG just uninstall ''SNS''...
     
    djpailo and nikolas_dot like this.
  23. nikolas_dot

    nikolas_dot Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011

    Jan 9, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Can someone tell me how to make a restor point to a root GT540?

    AND where can i find app2sd? Iam running android 2.1..
     
  24. djpailo

    djpailo Member
    Rank:
     #1,936
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    39
    0
    15
    Thank you for all your help. I managed to root my phone and removed all those annoying apps. I kept latitude anyway but what does it do?
     
  25. Nirob

    Nirob Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    539
    167
    93
    Planet Earth
    You can share your realtime location via Latitude with you friends, it's a part of Google Maps... :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...