1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Easy guide to update to Galaxo or GAOSP!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DaSchmarotzer, May 2, 2010.

  1. harvengure

    harvengure Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    And to be sure, you're still running a i7500l? I have yet to do anything with my phone and i figure if GAOSP is the way to get the most out of my phone I might as well do that. xD Still haven't found out how Galaxo differs from the default 1.5 firmware.
     

    Advertisement

  2. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,086
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    3,086
    1,569
    313
    Studying
    Qu
    Yes, I'm still using my good ol' I7500L on Bell in Canada (I haven't unlocked it either).

    I'd say go with GAOSP if you don't care wiping every once in a while when nightlies are released. I've made the switch and I have no regrets at all, however there is one bug with the wifi that could be annoying if you use it a lot (you might have to remove your phone's battery if you enable wifi and let the phone go to sleep, disabling the wifi when you are not using it will fix this). Also I'm not sure if bluetooth really works, I've never used it.

    There are a few differences between the latest Galaxo and stock firmware: the famous "no sleep bug" is fixed, overclocking works out of the box, WPA2 networks work, etc. Galaxo is simply better than the stock firmware.

    GAOSP is much different.
     
  3. mitmeister

    mitmeister Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    30
    1
    16
    Is it worth going back to GALAXHERO from Galaxo 1.6.3.4. And will GalaxHero work with JC6 firmware? Is there any adv/disadv?

    Anybody still using Galaxhero?
     
  4. r3dpuma

    r3dpuma Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    211
    13
    38
    Student, engineer
    Mangalia, Romania
    Not of i am aware. Its like going back to windows 98
     
  5. mitmeister

    mitmeister Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    30
    1
    16
    oh.. then i have four problems with galaxo, and searched quite a bit.
    1) Proximity Sensor doesnt work during call.
    2) GPS doesnt work with galaxo.
    3) Touchscreen doesnt work during call
    4) Music Player turns on whenever i insert and remove headphones?

    thats it.. and any of the problems listed above present in GAOSP(FROYO)?
     
  6. MichaelW

    MichaelW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    364
    26
    43
    1, 2, & 3 work fine for me on Galaxo 1.6.3.4. 4 is an issue even on stock firmware I believe, but I've never even plugged any headphones into my phone.
     
  7. mitmeister

    mitmeister Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    30
    1
    16
    @MichaelW - Are you using GalaxHero still? bcoz its shown in your device. anyways did you follow any special methods to restore those or is it working from day one?
     
  8. MichaelW

    MichaelW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    364
    26
    43
    No I'm using Galaxo 1.6.3.4, I just haven't updated that in my profile.

    It's always just worked fine for me.
     
  9. r3dpuma

    r3dpuma Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    211
    13
    38
    Student, engineer
    Mangalia, Romania
    Just use GAOSP, is near perfection.
    None of those issues are present in Froyo.
     
  10. nelee

    nelee Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010

    what is not working on froyo??

    i red couple of times dragaz's site but i couludn realise what all those beta1/2 wimp etc means..

    i coud use a information from the first hand..

    thank you a lot.
     
  11. Lelouch

    Lelouch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    655
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    655
    70
    98
    Kri
    Answers or explanations, whichever suits you :p

    Beta 1 & 2 are based on Eclair = Android 2.1 - in other words it's a early build then the latest nightly's.
    Recent nightly builds are based on Froyo = Android 2.2.1, but be advised that nightly's are usually in pre-beta state, but thanks to Drakaz that's not the case. The recent nightly's are almost if not beta. Still bluetooth isn't working, but I'm not using it so...

    And the last, it's not wimp but WIP which means - the letters are taken from the first word in Work In Progress (translation to Croatian: Rad u tijeku ili još se radi na tome).
    Be advised: how the number of builds gets higher (recent one is 0.71), with each number it gets better, optimized, faster, etc...

    I hope, I did answer some of your questions or vagueness you had. If not, ask again... :p
     
    nelee likes this.
  12. r3dpuma

    r3dpuma Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    211
    13
    38
    Student, engineer
    Mangalia, Romania
    Lol bro, so many words for Work in progress in croatian :D
    In romanian its "Munca in progres" .
     
  13. nelee

    nelee Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010

     
  14. Lelouch

    Lelouch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    655
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    655
    70
    98
    Kri
    Yep bro, it's a hard language indeed. :p
     
  15. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,086
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    3,086
    1,569
    313
    Studying
    Qu
    I decided to update the Guide to include Galaxo 1.6.3.4 and GAOSP.

    It was still Galaxo 1.6.3.3 with the Samsung.tar file. :p
     
  16. Lelouch

    Lelouch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    655
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    655
    70
    98
    Kri
    Well, Galaxo 1.6.3.3 is a old version of Galaxo if not almost prehistoric like Sam*censored stock ROM's Cupcake and Donut. :p

    Btw, nice of you to finally decide to update your guide. Now I just hope that users will have a more clear picture on how to update theirs units. :cool:
     
  17. ShadowR

    ShadowR Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    hi, i did all what you said and got stuck several times, most of them i figured out by myself but this i dont know what to do. i applied the gaosp beta 3 zip, it started allright and then failed.. this is the log:
    installing from sdcard...

    finding update package...
    opening update package...
    verifying update package...
    installing update...
    formatting SYSTEM...
    copying files...
    copying files...
    E: can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    (no such device)
    E: can't mount INTERNAL:
    E: Failure at line 328:
    copy_dir PACKAGE:dev_data INTERNAL:
    Sync data...
    .Installation failed


    I did not root my phone, is that connected? i dont really understand at this thing
    Thanks for the help!
     
  18. mitmeister

    mitmeister Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    30
    1
    16

    fix permissions!
     
  19. bubinho

    bubinho Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010

    Dec 24, 2010
    3
    0
    25
    greetz,

    thanks to all you, especially Lelouch, i manged to install galaxo 1.6.3.4 to my galaxy. everything went fine, galaxo is nice, then i try to install gaosp, just for trial and i got boot screen undefinetly. it will not start, i tried public beta 3 and nightly several times, same thing. any ideas?

    solved - i did install gapps for galaxo, didnt realize there is gapps for gaosp
     
  20. Abdurahman

    Abdurahman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    I was wondering, I'm running a 32mb swap now on my ext card, did it using recovery, is there any way to make it 64mb?
     
  21. stickus

    stickus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    17
    3
    16
    Technical
    Victoria, BC
    Yeah, but it requires a bit of work. I used a free utility called Gparted. It's a bootable linux live CD that will allow you to move/resize/delete partitions. BE CAREFUL!! It will let you completely bork your PC if you're not paying attention. That being said, I've made a 128MB swap partition on my 4GB Class 6 MicroSD and have had zero issues with it. Hope this helps. :cool:
     
  22. r3dpuma

    r3dpuma Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    211
    13
    38
    Student, engineer
    Mangalia, Romania
    As i am aware, the 32mb swap is enoough since the system will not need or take more memory from there, even if you make it 1gb.
     
  23. MichaelW

    MichaelW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    364
    26
    43
    Unless you fiddle with the swapiness settings, I believe it will only every use max around ~20MB
     
  24. bitxboi

    bitxboi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009

    Aug 21, 2009
    323
    6
    36
    Which one would you recommend for overall performance and battery life? GAOPS or Galaxo 1.6.3.4?
    I'm on GAOSP Beta 3 at the moment, and really happy about it, but I'm curious to know how my phone would fare with Galaxo 1.6.3.4
     
  25. albundy9999

    albundy9999 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Would I still be able to unlock the phone via fastgsm after upgrading to GAOSP Beta 3?
     

Share This Page

Loading...