• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root EASY ROOT for LG-P500 (June 2011)

Tom Ford

Lurker
Jun 1, 2011
In my previous thread I voiced problems with rooting a brand new LG-P500 Optimus One, bought in New Zealand (but imported from HK) in May 2011.

Android version 2.2.1 (Froyo), Kernel version 2.6.32.9, Software version V10b-Dec-07-2010. Kingston 16GB Class 4 SD card inserted and formatted.

I can now confirm, that as of last night the phone is successfully rooted!

I am not an expert, just a guy that likes to have things set-up my way rather than the Google way.

I have used the GingerBreak-v1.20.apk and followed simple instructions posted on XDA [26.04.2011][v1.2] GingerBreak APK (root for GingerBread) - xda-developers (Thank you, Chainfire, I am about to send some paypal donation $$ your way).

My experience:

- Downloaded the above .apk to my desktop (booted to win xp running on 24" iMac via bootcamp - I normally use the OSX side for work)

- Used Advanced Task Killer app to manually kill all the useless running apps.

- Connected the phone to the iMac (I already had the LG Suite and drivers), turned on USB storage and Debugging + ticked the Settings/Applications/Unknown sources (everything else off, phone only on 2G network).

- Copied the Gingerbreak to the phone then used Root Explorer app to find it, installed it

- Again made sure no other apps were running before I touched the root button

- The .apk did its thing, only took about a minute before the phone rebooted itself and maybe 2-3 min. for the actual reboot to finish

- Everything fine, the .apk installed Super User too.