• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Ebooks on the Acer a500

ErIndoorz

Feb 5, 2011
Hi all
I've just bought a couple of ebooks for my tablet from WHSmith and downloaded Overdrive Media Console that WHSmiths said I'd need to read them but cant seem to get them to work.

I've downloaded the books from my email (about 4 times now) and STILL cant get it to work.

I'm very new to all this and a female :)D) so need help please!

Thanks

First you need to fine out what format the books are in. There are many types of formats as follows: You can right click on the book and select properties to see the format. And then you will be able to find a free reader for it. Also if your having a hard loading onto your Tablet and finding them you should get the file manager called es file explorer.If you need more help dont hesitate to ask.

Doc
(aka "PalmDOC") DOC, or Doc, is a generic name for a type of text document format usable by nearly all PDA platforms. Note that this format is not the same as the .doc filename extension usually given to Microsoft Word document files. These files will have a ".pdb" filename extension. Doc files can be read by a variety of readers, including eReader, iSilo, CSpotRun, TiBR, WeaselReader, TealDoc, and many more.

ePub
An open standard defined by the Open eBook Forum of the International Digital Publishing Forum. It is based on XHTML and XML.

eReader
previously known as Palm Reader Originally created by Peanut Press, this format can be read on many devices, including cellphones (BlackBerry, iPhone), Palm devices, and desktop computers (Mac and PC). There is some extended formatting and reasonable compression.
iLiad PDF A document formatted with margins, font-sizes, and images tailored to the iRex iLiad.

iPod Notes