1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

EC05: Love it, hate it... .::Feedback Only::.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SurrealOne, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    Yeah, looking at 2 hours off the charger...71% battery... I even installed ATK in an attempt to see what is killing my battery.

    Hopefully, it is just a reporting error on my battery life widget.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    757
    113
    93
    Have you done a Battery pull after update? And if not take the battery out hold the power button for like 10 or 15 secs with the battery out just to clear it. Then put the battery back in power it back up and see if that helps
     
  3. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    No, I have not. I assume I would want to do this with a full charge on the battery?
     
  4. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    757
    113
    93
    it's not about the battery just the meter that reads the battery. But sure as long as you do a good power clean up<I just made that part up lol
     
  5. cerberus60

    cerberus60 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Hello all, still running ECLAIR 2.1 just got off phone with Sprint about update was told Samsung was still working on it and it is not ready yet, hmmm Whats up with that?
     
  6. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    757
    113
    93
    Hello and Welcome to Android Forums :) Please make sure you read the thread title before you post. This thread is for feedback if you have EC05. Thanks
     
  7. gme109

    gme109 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    535
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    535
    46
    68
    Male
    No bugs, except battery life has been cut in half. I had to exchange out my phone the first time I upgraded to 2.2, to a refurb with 2.1, because of lousy battery life, now here I am again. I'm pissed that Samsung doesn't fully test an update before releasing it on the public. Shame on them.
     
  8. mjnoles1

    mjnoles1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    50
    1
    16
    What exactly does that sequence you mentioned do to the phone?
     
  9. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    That doesn't seem to help my cause... I'll try again after a full charge. I tried a factory wipe prior to this as well. Looks like I may need to do a wipe and try reinstalling the update...

    Otherwise I'll see if root and rom will solve the problem, or a combination of flashing back to DI18, blah, blah, blah...etc.

    But one strange thing is when I go under Battery Use, it is only showing Display (97%) and Cell Standby (3%), with the TWS at 35%...nothing else is showing up... Even though I would normally see Swype, Messaging, Browser (or Internet now I suppose). I even played around with FPse for awhile, and that isn't showing up...
     
  10. mjnoles1

    mjnoles1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    50
    1
    16
    The reason I am asking is that I tried that sequence and now when I press the power button to turn off the screen, the screen shuts off for a second or two then pops back up. I then have to press the power button again to truly shut off the screen.

    It didn't do this until I tried that sequence.
     
  11. _Epic

    _Epic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    218
    45
    43
    Male
    Sprint Service Technician
    Lakeland, FL
    My phone did is on DK28 and EB13 but now that I'm on EC05, it is not doing it.
    Are you on EC05?
     
  12. mjnoles1

    mjnoles1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    50
    1
    16
    Yes, I got the EC05 this morning and everything was perfect and since I did that sequence of taking out the battery and holding down the power button 10-20 second, I have had this glitch :(
     
  13. Sedan_Clan

    Sedan_Clan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    99
    2
    16
    Law Enforcer
    Rancho Cucamonga
    I've noticed that my Swype was acting funny as well. I pulled the battery, and it seems to be running smoother. It sucks that "Shoot Me" no longer works on non-rooted phones.
     
  14. _Epic

    _Epic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    218
    45
    43
    Male
    Sprint Service Technician
    Lakeland, FL
    I want to suggest a hard reset, but I'm not 100% positive that will fix it.
     
  15. Aero1

    Aero1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    353
    58
    53
    We have one with EC05. Mostly improved but there are bugs showing up on SD card usage (stock shipped SD card). sprint says it is listed as an ec05 issue and they are working attempting to get sammy to fix it.
     
  16. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    757
    113
    93
    Step 1.
    power on phone
    Step 2.
    take the Battery out
    Step 3.
    hold the power button for 10 to 15 secs
    Step 4.
    put the battery back in
    Step 5.
    Power the phone on
    Now wait and see how battery life is.

    This is a feedback thread not trouble shooting. Thank you :)
    Please post support question in.
    Epic 4G - Support and Troubleshooting - Android Forums
     
    only1penny and tresean1 like this.
  17. Guitarrrmom

    Guitarrrmom Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    I'm lovin the incredible bluetooth range I'm gettin now!

    I don't really care for the whole left swipe in contacts IMMEDIATELY calls that contact.
     
  18. Sedan_Clan

    Sedan_Clan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    99
    2
    16
    Law Enforcer
    Rancho Cucamonga
    You mean right swipe. ;) Left is for messaging!
     
  19. toyman317

    toyman317 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    92
    6
    16
    Got mine OTA this AM and all is well except for one thing. There is still the major lag with the icons moving to landscape when the slider is pulled out. Same thing happens when the slider is pushed in as well and its supposed to go vertical. Otherwise the move from portrait to landscape works well. I was glad to see that the video works well in low light. That was a problem in EB13.
     
  20. big3etr

    big3etr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    35
    3
    16
    SOooo, does the BT stack still have the same issues from before? If you pair/connect a bluetooth device, does the earpiece on the phone crackle? When you have the device connected for a bit then turn it off, does the phone send the audio back through the speaker or the earpiece????? I really need to know if they finally fixed this issue.
     
  21. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    757
    113
    93
    I use BT everyday and have never had that problem.
     
  22. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    173
    Female
    Screenshot no longer works on nonrooted phone as well.
     
  23. toyman317

    toyman317 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    92
    6
    16
    Is anyone else having major screen rotation lag, especially when opening/closing the slide? Really annoying. Is there a fix for this?
     
  24. Sedan_Clan

    Sedan_Clan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    99
    2
    16
    Law Enforcer
    Rancho Cucamonga
    No lag here man. I do hate the fact that the log captures outgoing/incoming texts though. Is there a way to disable that feature? It's so annoying!
     
  25. toyman317

    toyman317 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    92
    6
    16
    Did you reset your phone to factory settings after/before the update? I am wondering if that will fix my problem?
     

Share This Page

Loading...