1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

EC05: Love it, hate it... .::Feedback Only::.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SurrealOne, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. FreakyLocz14

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,344
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,344
    76
    148
    This is the exact same thing as EB13 except they added that Sprint ID bloat. Has anyone noticed any differences between EB13 and EC05 besides Sprint ID?
     

    Advertisement

  2. dksnet

    dksnet Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    How about people taking the time to show the steps in which what was done to fix their issues? i.e. calibrating facedown?
     
  3. cokemanpac

    cokemanpac Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    Oh snaps! He was right calibration Facedown does work! Just go to c"ibration hit calibrate, and put your phone facedown on a flat surface quickly
     
  4. Howard Packer

    Howard Packer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Here's another vote for calibrating face down. So far, so good! :)
     
  5. Howard Packer

    Howard Packer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    I am not thrilled by the sound for when the battery is fully charged. Nothing like having that happen just when I am falling asleep. :rolleyes:
     
  6. toyman317

    toyman317 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    92
    6
    16
    Not only is there a major lag when opening the keyboard or closing it but now there is a major lag coming out of some applications to the home screen. The icons take about 20 seconds to populate the screen. Calibrating the screen and hard reset didn't work for me. Wife just got her update from EB13 to EC05 tonight and hers has none of these problems...at least so far.
     
  7. Flaspeneer

    Flaspeneer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    207
    24
    38
    Male
    Writer, Studio Musician, Editor
    Mine updated automatically last night. I'd said no twice before; this time, the update chose not to ask.

    Very odd changes to the environment so far. It's like waking up in someone else's apartment.
     
  8. cyberdog433

    cyberdog433 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Still has the same blasted pairing issue that EB13 did, you'll pair, put in the PIN and then the phone will disconnect from the BT device. I cannot get a reliable connection to my Parrot car-kit. All the 2.1 Roms worked, DK28 worked (albeit slightly different), EB13 was a PITA and now EC05 does the same thing as EB13. (Yes I used root explorer and took out the contents of /DATA/MISC/BLUETOOTHHD, which partially fixed EB13).

    What gives with Samsung's ability to provide a working BT Stack?
     
  9. CBRRider

    CBRRider Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    63
    49
    43
    Electrical and Computer Engineer
    Canton, MI
    Ditto...if i want to see all my text's i can just open the messaging app, i don't need them in my call log >.<

    They don't include calls in the messaging, why put texts in the call log?! Just plain stupid if you ask me >.<
     
  10. badankles

    badankles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    972
    90
    98
    USA
    Starting to hate it now. There is definitely something wrong with the connection software. The switching of wifi on is encountering Error message. Never had that problem. Got a no signal beep in an area that was fine before, and 3g is slower.

    Looks like I'm going to have to take drastic action...
     
  11. acasalin

    acasalin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    26
    2
    16
    I absolutely agree...have Oarrot, Icon, and Q2...when I disconnect, all the sounds of the ohone remain muted..have to do a restart of the phone. The parrot and q2 drop pairing..Today, had to pair Q2 again, and EC05 froze the phone....definitely NOT fixed from EB13 !!!:mad:
     
  12. acasalin

    acasalin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    26
    2
    16

    ............And Bluetooth sound level from stock BT voice dialer is still muted !!! with no in-ap level control !
     
  13. baxterbrown

    baxterbrown Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    19
    1
    16
    Technical Support
    Anaheim Hills
    Received my update from EB13 to EC05 last night around 5:30pm (pst) it asked to reset my phone and installed after boot. One thing i noticed that is weird is the standard touchwiz home launcher does not switch screen orientation automatically. BUT if i'm using another launcher such as ZEAM it does and fast which is nice! I have come to accept everything about this phone quirks and all, its still such a badass phone coming from a blackberry. The only thing that bugs me is the checkerboard and really bad zooming functions with the android browser. Not everyone is having this problem which i find weird. Anybody come up with any type of fix for this? Oh and props to Samsung and Sprint for actually getting these updates out. :D
     
  14. toyman317

    toyman317 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    92
    6
    16
    My wife got her update last night from EB13 and her phone rocks. No problems at all that I can see. Another problem I am having is when in Managing Apps, if I open up an app to move it or uninstall it and then go back out of that app, the phone goes into "Loading" and gets locked up. I also tried to reformat my SD card and it wouldn't let me do that either. I don't hear anybody else having these problems. I probably need to go to the repair center.
     
  15. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #95
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    173
    Female

    Menu>Settings>Display>Horizontal Calibration

    Place phone face down with enough hanging over the edge to touch "Calibrate"
     
  16. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #95
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    173
    Female

    Update. It doesn't do this all the time. I took a screen shot of it today.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. arewin

    arewin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Updated Friday night and okay initially, not a power user but the stuff I used ok and battery life probably the same. Called Sprint Cust. Service Monday about compass that has never worked. The rep sent something (?) to my phone that didn't help. Ater that the phone has been getting slower opening email and Opera can take 5-10s to open, and the bottom buttons can be non-responsive when trying to go back or get to Home. Tonight I'm getting the orientation lag at times. I've tried the battery pull but hasn't helped. The delays are annoying!!

    arewin
     
  18. badankles

    badankles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    972
    90
    98
    USA
    sorry to state the obvious, but i just turn the phone to landscape when that happens.
     
  19. rogand

    rogand Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Ditto, Ditto, and Ditto. It sure would be good to find why some phones do it, and some don't. Maybe we could start a thread of the lag, and people could post up what apps they have installed and we could search for commonality. It would appear it has to be something installed, as I get the lag even when nothing else is running.

    Ideas anyone?
     
  20. o0Syn

    o0Syn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    45
    3
    36
    IT - Student
    Milwaukee, WI
    Just got the update OTA last nite around 9 and I am kind of regretting it. So far bad battery life and one major problem I am having is with the built in email program, it will not retrieve my msgs at all! Just displays Connection Error. I have all the settings/password correct. I even tried K9 and other email programs and they all work fine. Anyone else have this problem? I tried a factory reset/reboot, re-entering settings multiple times, no changes.

    One plus for me is the touch sensing on they virtual keyboard is much more accurate then previous builds. Really frustrated with the stock email program though.
     
  21. MisterDisney

    MisterDisney Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    48
    2
    16
    Never should have accepted it. My phone was working just fine and I really liked the stock Froyo UI.. Now, apparently.. I'm stuck with TouchWiz and can't go back to the stock Launcher. Luckily, I only updated my phone and my wife was able to see what it did and decline the update on hers.

    Bah, I see what people are talking about now and how to etc.. /sigh

    And yeah, having the Spring ID thing there instead really does suck..
     
  22. o0Syn

    o0Syn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    45
    3
    36
    IT - Student
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ohh man what a day yesterday was! I decided I wanted to go back to stock and then update to EB13. It was chaos I spent the whole day going into download mode, reflashing the stock rom and file system through the program Odin but it kept locking up randomly I ran the flash over 20 times for sure. So needless to say I was bricked several times. The reason I wanted to go back to EB13 was for the working stock email and no sprint ID. Email would not work in the stock operating system either so I said eff it and did EC05 anyways. So all that and now I'm back to where I did not want to be again. bleh! what a day.
     
  23. GriffMH

    GriffMH Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    26
    2
    16
    I went from DI18 to EB13 (OTW) to EC05... pretty much a stock user... I never had any issues DI>EB and no issues EB>EC...

    I'm getting good battery life; at this moment 20h28m46s since unplug, 50m28s time on, 20m19s voice calls & TWS 1%... but I don't run BT or 4G at all and Wifi rarely.

    Annoyances posted by others already: include no fixes for DRMs & Airplane Mode issues, default landscape mode on opening apps (even when in vertical position) and sometimes it sticks a little in landscape.

    Something I haven't seen anyone else post yet is that the battery indicator on the home screen now (since EB13) seems to be very optimistic compared to what it states when recharging... based on the above battery usage the home screen indicator shows 50% battery left, but sticking it on the charger it it says "Charging (32%)...

    Something else I haven't figured out is that my work calendar used to auto sync and my work e-mail did not (this is the way I want it so I didn't bloat my phone mail box) and now it seems I can only auto sync both or neither??? (stock calendar & mail apps)
     
  24. Tokame

    Tokame Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    EC05 - MISTAKE

    After update, Can not link to my exchange server via Exchange active sync. (worked great with EB13)

    WiFi Hotspot not working..something about not authenticating user/pass. (worked great with EB13)

    Voice Dialing by holdding the search button, broken, say someone's name in my contacts and it brings up hospitals, pubs, ect... (worked great with EB13)

    If someone could point me to a location I can dload EB13, I would appreciate it. Already have the How-to vids on Odin.
     
  25. TheEngineer

    TheEngineer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    268
    55
    53
    Hard reset with the hardware keys and you will be alright.
     

Share This Page

Loading...