1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support eclair/froyo stock keyboard on donut?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dryhte, Sep 6, 2010.

  1. dryhte

    dryhte Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    186
    28
    63
    SAP consultant
    Belgium
    Hi all,

    I've read the stock keyboard on eclair/froyo is supposed to be a lot better than on Donut and lower.

    Does anyone have an idea if there's an .apk floating around, and if so, how to apply it?

    thanks...
     

    Advertisement

  2. sado1

    sado1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    103
    14
    38
    Not really worth it I think... the only things it has are using the multitouch (which our device lacks) and that trick to get number keys by swiping up QWERTYUIOP letters. The one on Cupcake sucked (wasn't it smaller?) but on Donut it's better.
     
  3. inFECT

    inFECT Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    what sado1 said.. just go with the htc_ime and you are fine.
     
  4. dryhte

    dryhte Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    186
    28
    63
    SAP consultant
    Belgium
    Well... I have swiftkey atm, but I actually liked the looks of the original keyboard and the way it worked (though of course there was some room for inprovement)
     
  5. weasel

    weasel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    401
    23
    38
    Nuclear Operator (no shit !!)
    Renfrew, ON
    I just downloaded swiftkey last week and I quite like it so far. Much better than stock and I like it better than shapewriter.
     
  6. r3dpuma

    r3dpuma Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    211
    13
    38
    Student, engineer
    Mangalia, Romania
    using the htc_ime, best and easy to install.
     
  7. vinayg18

    vinayg18 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Student
    Bangalore
    I don't think it'd be compatible with Galaxy, if it does exist.

    I like Better Keyboard [free] and Smart Keyboard.
     
  8. badeaioan

    badeaioan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    13
    3
    16
    I use htc_ime. It's great and it is perfectly compatible.
     

Share This Page

Loading...