1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Edit ICE Contacts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 5thAgent, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. 5thAgent

    5thAgent Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    106
    3
    56
    Package Handler at FedEx
    Lutz, FL, USA
    So somehow I added my parents to my ICE contacts, and every time I call them, my phone goes into emergency mode. I remember adding them via something like ##setup, but when I go there, I don't see them under ICE contacts. Help! I'm tired of having to exit emergency mode.
     

    Advertisement

  2. 5thAgent

    5thAgent Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    106
    3
    56
    Package Handler at FedEx
    Lutz, FL, USA
    Please don't just let this thread slip by the wayside without an answer. This is a serious pain.
     
  3. 5thAgent

    5thAgent Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    106
    3
    56
    Package Handler at FedEx
    Lutz, FL, USA
    Well it looks like that's exactly what's going to happen.

    Thanks so much to everyone that helped! </sarcasm>
     
  4. TheSultan

    TheSultan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,482
    255
    183
    Operations Manager
    Rochester, NY
    Sorry you didn't get the help you were looking for man. I'm always happy to lend a hand, but unfortunately, I've never even heard of ICE.
     
  5. NKT

    NKT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,571
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    1,571
    3,009
    313
    ICE= In Case of Emergency
     
  6. AdmSuvvuk

    AdmSuvvuk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    355
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    355
    45
    43
    Editor-In-Chief for Creative Media Resources
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Easy there! You posted about 1pm it's now 3pm, many people are at work. Activity isn't very high right now in the forums. Rather than going by the wayside it's entirely possible that the problem is that someone who has the answer to your question hasn't gotten to it yet.

    I'm watching the thread because I didn't know it was possible to set ICE contacts with this phone. I was hoping that by seeing someone answer to you as to how to "undo" it I can learn how to do it. Preferably without the going into emergency mode situation you are referring to ;).
     
  7. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    It's equally possible that nobody knows the answer, in which case the silence is hundreds of people saying "nope, I don't know either".
     
  8. 5thAgent

    5thAgent Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    106
    3
    56
    Package Handler at FedEx
    Lutz, FL, USA
    I kinda assumed nobody seemed to know, but I'd at least appreciate the bumps of people saying "Hm, I'm not really sure." I kinda freaked out because this post worked its way off of page one like twice before anyone replied. So nobody knows? lol.
     
  9. NKT

    NKT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,571
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    1,571
    3,009
    313
    Why not just remove their contact info and re-add them?
     
  10. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Is this the point where we all do the V8 slap (not to be confused with a face palm) and say 'well duh' ?
    Good clear thinking NKT.
     
  11. NKT

    NKT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,571
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    1,571
    3,009
    313
    Dunno...

    Are the contacts synced via Google?

    Is there a number code programed into the contact that could be causing the phone to go into emergency mode?

    But yea, first thing I would try is removing and re-adding.
     
  12. 5thAgent

    5thAgent Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    106
    3
    56
    Package Handler at FedEx
    Lutz, FL, USA
    Well I know it's not associated with the contact. I remember adding them through a hidden menu screen accessed from the dialer, and I didn't select a contact, I typed in the phone number manually. So whenever I happen to dial that number, whether its in my contacts or not, my phone switches to emergency mode. :x

    Awful. I think the ##program menu was different in 1.5 than 2.1... Hell. I'm gonna have to wipe again, aren't I? D:
     
  13. truelove79

    truelove79 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    728
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    728
    295
    133
    Electrical Engineer
    Peoria, IL
    I didn't even know there was an emergency mode on the Eris. How do I add an ICE contact?
     
  14. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Have you checked 'My Verizon' online? If it's not something that's really stored in the phone maybe you can get to it there.
     
  15. Prixmo1

    Prixmo1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Houston area
    When I got my Droid Incredible, I asked one to the sales staff where you could enter this information. There is a way but it is buried so deep that I cannot even remember how to get to it. I am going to go back to that person and have them show me in detail.

    There is an free ICE app but I didn't get it to work. The pay for version may work better. The thing is getting the details on how to set it up and activate it.

    If I find out something, I will post it here.

    I don't think you will find anything on MyVerizon but worth a try.
     
  16. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Go into the application manager and clear cache and data on the phone app, Gmail, Gmail Storage and the contacts app (contacts will resync, of course), then reboot your device.

    Then update your PRL.
     
  17. Prixmo1

    Prixmo1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Houston area

Share This Page

Loading...