1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Editing Launcher2.apk?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rowlers, Aug 14, 2011.

  1. rowlers

    rowlers Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    520
    51
    78
    Launcher2.apk has about 4.5mb of wallpapers that I don't need.
    How do I get rid of these? I'm S-OFF if it helps..
    I think I have to pull it, delete the wallpapers, and push it back. But not exactly sure how to do it!
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You'd need to open the apk with winrar and browse to res/drawable-hdpi. You can't just remove them. Youd have to replace with smaller files of the same name

    The other way would be to decompile the apk with apk manager or apk tool, delete the files and any references to the files in the xml files.

    That's massive though. My launcher2 is 1.2MB in totality from redux. Easier to remove yours and adb push the redux version if that works?
     
    rowlers likes this.
  3. rowlers

    rowlers Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    520
    51
    78
    Does sound a ball ache that!
    Do you have an copy of your launcher2.apk? Is it the standard .apk from redux? what about the std one from devnull would that work?
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Try it. Backup first
     
  5. rowlers

    rowlers Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    520
    51
    78
    got copy of the launcher2.apk from redux. got a nandroid ;)
    can I replace whilst running using linda file manager or terminal emulator or something?
    Or does it have to be abd?
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    If launcher2 is your main launcher, id try adb
     
  7. rowlers

    rowlers Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    520
    51
    78
    yeh it is, thats what I thought, can't replace something thats running!
     
  8. rowlers

    rowlers Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    520
    51
    78
    another option then, could I use root explorer for e.g. to remove launcher2.apk and replace it with, say zeam, or adw?
    Or again, can I download zeam, make it default, remove launcher2.apk, using root explorer/TE, and replace it with the smaller launcher2.apk from redux,
    [Too lazy to fire up my WinXP PC to use ABD!]
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,528
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,528
    15,840
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Have you modified the ROM in any other way (e.g. flashed custom kernel, theme, etc)?

    You could try swapping Launcher2 apks in the ROM zip (or a copy of it), boot into recovery and reflash the ROM. You can edit the zip using Astro if you can't be bothered starting up a computer ;)
     
  10. rowlers

    rowlers Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    520
    51
    78
    No other mods.
    Might try another launcher anyways...
    Can I incorporate a different launcher into the ROM easily? Once I find one I like? Or am I getting in too deep!
     
  11. rowlers

    rowlers Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    520
    51
    78
    Not that stright foward, /system/app folder is read only so can't just replace one launcher for another.. looks like it has to be abd...
     
  12. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire

    This would be interesting to me aswell.
     
  13. rowlers

    rowlers Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    520
    51
    78
    right, so I've abd pushed the launcher2.apk, from the Redux Rom [1.1mb], into the /system/app folder. rebooted and it looks like its worked. All running no FCs so far, and now have 6.6mb free in the system storage, whcih was the whole reason for doing the fiddling about!
    Next thing to try would be push your favorite launcher, not tested any so don;t know what this may be!
    Zeam is fairly lean tho!
    Thanks for all help...
     
  14. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,528
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,528
    15,840
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    But since you are S-Off you can mount it r/w :D

    In Root Explorer there's a button in the top-right corner of the screen for doing this.

    Of course you've already done the job, I just mention for future reference.
     
  15. rowlers

    rowlers Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    520
    51
    78
    Can it be done without root explorer [i.e so I don't have to pay;)]. Am I right in thinking you can "adb" with terminal emulator?
     
  16. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,528
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,528
    15,840
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Anything you can do with "adb shell" you can do with the terminal emulator.

    ES File Explorer, which is free, can also browse /system these days, and it has a "mount file system" option in Settings which will mount it r/w. So that should be a convenient, free option.

    (I still use Root Explorer for this as I paid for it before ES could do this, and kinda like the mount/unmount button in the corner of the screen. But I do, funnily enough, use ES as my regular file browser!).
     
    rowlers likes this.
  17. rowlers

    rowlers Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    520
    51
    78
    ES is nice, I did use this ages ago, don't know why i went back to Astro TBH!
    Next experiment will be to replace maybe launcher2, with zeam, adw etc...
     
  18. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Ditto. Root explorer specialises in this though. I find it much more intuitive tbh. ES, I dont like the copying / moving files thing, but look I can access the NAS.

    I use all 3. Astro, ES and root. Es for network locations, Astro for local locations (and viewing / sharing downloaded images) and root for, well - the obvious.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...