1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Eduroam connection

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CathFr, Sep 19, 2017.

  1. CathFr

    CathFr Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017

    Sep 18, 2017
    1
    0
    15
    I haven't been able login to Eduroam on my Android 7 Sony Xperia A1 since I bought it last month, despite all my login details being correct. I recently figured out that by not selecting any security certificate at all [i.e., CA Certificate: Do not validate; Phase 2 authentification: None] I could access Eduroam! However, this seems like a serious security flaw.

    I have just been in contact with Sony [for a second time in the last week]. This time, I talked to someone who appeared much more knowledgeable about the Eduroam connection issues. They stated that Sony are aware of this connection and security certificate problem, which is different information from my last contact with Sony and implies that this is an issue with the device itself. The suggested solution was to reset all network data. I will not have access to an Eduroam network for another week to test this solution but I wished to pass on the information.

    Has anyone else come across this issue with other Android devices?

    Please let let me know what are the security implications of this and whether this is something that should be dealt with in the OS.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,809
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,809
    13,786
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Quite frankly it sounds like Eduroam and Sony are blaming each other, you're stuck in the middle, and can't do a lot until they resolve their problems, unless you can find any alternative. I know we don't use Eduroam in China, so don't know anyone here
     
  3. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,532
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,532
    15,843
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    My settings are CA certificate unspecified, Phase 2 Authentication None. But those are what my institution's IT department said should be used, so they clearly don't have a problem with it.

    Frankly Eduroam authentication is a bit of a lottery anyway: if something doesn't work it could be the network you are using or your home institute's authentication server, and good luck to the end user trying to figure it out. Today my Android devices would connect fine but my laptop wouldn't, but right now I'm using the laptop on eduroam with no problems (and without changing anything, which is why I'm sure that wherever the problem was it wasn't my equipment or settings).
     

Share This Page

Loading...