1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General EE4 update live, works.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Zohar127, Jun 10, 2011.

  1. Zohar127

    Zohar127 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    72
    20
    38
    Hello fellow Charge users!

    So I was bumming around on my phone when an update buzzed letting me know the EE4 update announced today that was supposed to come "soon" came out... immediately! Nice job on Samsung and VZ on that. I went ahead and installed it.

    I've screwed around on a few websites on it, including phandroid, and it seems to be running flawlessly now. The lag issues that it had are pretty much gone. There's a little bit of checkerboarding when you zoom in and out really fast, but that's normal.

    Giantbomb.com, which is a flash heavy site with tons of embedded videos, was practically unusable before. It took forever to do anything and pinching/dragging/touching links would just lock the whole damn thing up. Now it's pretty good. Very usable. No really bad lag/stuttering issues anymore. Pinching works great and the website is overall very responsive now.

    Also, I feel like it performs better on the home screens now. Maybe it's all in my mind, but the slight stuttering the phone had when sliding around home screens seems to be reduced. Actually, scratch that. It's definitely reduced. The only homescreen that stutters now is the "buddies now" one that comes pre-loaded. I have a feeling that has more to do with the widget than the phone itself. I've got like 10 buddies loaded up in that, so it has to pull a lot of data from it. (p.s if anyone knows an app or widget that does the same thing as buddies now but works better, feel free to let me know :p)

    Anyway if you have the Charge there's no reason not to get this update. Seems to work some programming magic!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Sintec

    Sintec Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    40
    4
    16
    Arizona
    I thought this was simply for the Hotspot issue?
     
  3. Zohar127

    Zohar127 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    72
    20
    38
    DROID Charge Set to Get EE4 Update, Improves 4G LTE Connectivity

    Fixes several issues. Those are just the ones they listed. They didn't say anything about making the home screens faster, but it really seems like they are to me. Maybe it has something to do with whatever they changed to make the browser more responsive.
     
    Sintec likes this.
  4. Sintec

    Sintec Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    40
    4
    16
    Arizona
    Nice, didn't see that, thanks. Installing now...hope this makes the difference I am looking for cuz I am just about to return this phone.
     
  5. moshock

    moshock Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    43
    2
    16
    Any manual download options available, or we have to wait for OTA?
     
  6. Zohar127

    Zohar127 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    72
    20
    38
    Mine popped up for me in the notifications at around 1230am while I was messing around in the menus. Don't know about any option to manually dl it.
     
  7. Gravytrain

    Gravytrain Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    May 7, 2011

    May 7, 2011
    547
    125
    93
    Mine just popped up, i installed it (I think), lost 3g service for about a half hour, and now its back up.How do I know for sure if the update installed?
     
  8. tmmdp

    tmmdp Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 8, 2011

    My update finally showed up tonight 5 mins ago and I loaded it up and I am using the hotspot now.
    NICE JOB VERIZON!
     
  9. dan optimus m

    dan optimus m Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    i know this is probably totally off subject but i tried to back up my rom on my optimus m and and i think i bricked it im not sure but if anyone can help me with this ill appreciate it very much! and i need to fix my phone asap! i get the lg sign at start up then it says fast boot mode started udc_start() help pleaseeeeeee!!!
     
  10. Gravytrain

    Gravytrain Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    May 7, 2011

    May 7, 2011
    547
    125
    93
    The UI is smooth as butter now.... nice.
     
  11. Halcyon

    Halcyon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010

    Oct 15, 2010
    236
    38
    43
    Seattle, WA
    Yeah, the browser rocks now.
     
  12. kyler13

    kyler13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,638
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    1,638
    284
    163
    Annapolis, MD
    Finally got it when I woke up this morning. Definitely smoother, especially browsing. I also noticed the signal meter looks a bit different. Did they add an extra bar?
     
  13. Gravytrain

    Gravytrain Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    May 7, 2011

    May 7, 2011
    547
    125
    93

    Signal looks different and my signal is Def stronger. I usually have one bar while at work and now I have 3-4.
     
  14. Maelstrom'

    Maelstrom' Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    27
    9
    16
    Physician
    Dallas, TX
    The tech support rep I talked to yesterday afternoon said there were no manual updates available. Verizon is just pushing out the update gradually.

    I got mine sometime last night. Installed it this morning. Hotspot issue resolved, new signal meeter, and the phone is definitely on the faster side.

    Thanks Big Red
     
  15. Ken7

    Ken7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    855
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    855
    212
    93
    It's weird how this update is pushing out. I thought for sure I'd have it this morning, but no such luck. I don't know what the procedure is their using for who gets it and when. Anyone else still waiting for it?
     
  16. UltimateSeo

    UltimateSeo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    5
    3
    6
    If I update will I loose root?
     
  17. Ken7

    Ken7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    855
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    855
    212
    93
    I'm not even sure you can do the OTA update if you're rooted.
     
  18. Rominucka

    Rominucka Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011

    Apr 29, 2011
    178
    30
    63
    It's hard to explain
    Delray Beach, FL
    I swear things like to happen right after I read about them. I click on this thread and am about to go to my settings and boom..."system update ready to install".
    Mobile hotspot works...my bars look a little more compact...4G seems more solid in my data fickle room; though in mid-message, for the first time, I got a "data roaming" notification when it switched to 3G. Oh well. So far so good.

    PS yes the signal bars look different because they added one. Used to be 4 spaced bars, now we have 5 compact bars. I like it.
     
  19. sinclac

    sinclac Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    69
    13
    38
    Building Maintenance
    Sacramento, Ca
    Mine pop up about an hour ago, nice a smooth.
     
  20. WildH

    WildH Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    251
    27
    43
    Just got it as well seems pretty good but was running go launcher before and didn't have any problems....
     
  21. addictedtocars

    addictedtocars Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011

    Apr 14, 2011
    200
    7
    36
    Ditto with Dolphon HD Browser, but I did try the stock browser since EE4 and it seems speedy, nice update, good work Samsung, now get us some gingerbread!!
     
  22. Ken7

    Ken7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    855
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    855
    212
    93
    Everything seems OK and the phone is smoother with the update EXCEPT I don't see any real difference in reception and that was the one I wanted the most. I was just in a 3G area and when I pulled the phone from my pocket and turned it on, there were about 4 bars, but no indication of 3G, 4G or even 1X. After several seconds I got the 3G sign but until then I had 'connectivity error'. Also in my house, prior to the update I'd go from 3G to 4G and back to 3G at random times. Same thing now with the update. So I really don't see any difference in reception at all. :(
     
  23. gemro311

    gemro311 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    45
    6
    16
    Definitely a big improvement on the overall speed of the phone. More importantly wireless hotspot now works. Our update came at 12:30 this morning.
     
  24. bubarub

    bubarub Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    26
    8
    16
    California
    I live in a fully 4g area in fresno, california and i actually never entered 3g until after the update.... maybe it's just coincidence.
     
  25. executor485

    executor485 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    204
    21
    38
    Behind joo
    Same reason I updated, I was hoping that all my signal issues would be resolved. Unfortunately, no such luck. I actually think it's made them worse :S I'm having to restart the phone every time it drops the 3 or 4g network in order for it to recognize the internet/data again. (2-3 times a day now. wtf)
     

Share This Page

Loading...