1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

EF17 is here!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jasonacg, Jul 5, 2011.

  1. jasonacg

    jasonacg Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    245
    37
    43
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Just received a Twitter announcement from Sprint...Android 2.3 is now available for the Galaxy Tab!

    I haven't yet received it on my phone, but I'm hoping to see it today. Reading through to community postings at Sprint, it's being phased-in as an OTA update over the next few days, and they are recommending that WiFi be switched off.

    If I find a way to expedite the process, I'll post it here. If someone else beats me to it, please share.
     

    Advertisement

  2. L8AGIN

    L8AGIN Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    142
    19
    58
    maryland
    Rathamar and jasonacg like this.
  3. jasonacg

    jasonacg Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    245
    37
    43
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Thanks! I now have EF17 installed on my tablet. So far, so good. Using the update process, I didn't lose any of my applications or settings.
     
  4. L8AGIN

    L8AGIN Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    142
    19
    58
    maryland
    Neither did I, it was pretty seamless.
     
  5. jasonacg

    jasonacg Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    245
    37
    43
    Tampa Bay, FL
    I even got Netflix working. Now it was really worth it! :)
     
    Rathamar likes this.
  6. Jore

    Jore Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    423
    19
    38
    California
    I'm trying to install but when I boot into recovery and select update.zip.....all I get on teh screen is a triangle with a exclamation point and the android icon.

    Any ideas??
     
  7. jasonacg

    jasonacg Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    245
    37
    43
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Are you holding the volume UP or DOWN button during power-on? You should be using the UP button.

    It's also possible you don't have a good copy of update.zip, or it's not in the right folder.

    Let us know if any of that helps.
     
  8. Jore

    Jore Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    423
    19
    38
    California
    I'm holding the volume up + Power button to get to the recovery menu. Renamed it to Update.zip.

    I placed the file right on the SD card (not in any folders). I'll try and redownload it again.
     
    conncats likes this.
  9. jasonacg

    jasonacg Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    245
    37
    43
    Tampa Bay, FL
    One other question...

    What version are you currently at? Are you rooted?

    I upgraded from stock. If someone else has made a successful upgrade from an older version, or a custom ROM, maybe they'll chime in.
     
  10. Jore

    Jore Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    423
    19
    38
    California
    I'm not rooted....I'm currently stock.
     
  11. Jore

    Jore Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    423
    19
    38
    California
    I got it uploading now....I'll see how it turns out.
     
  12. Rathamar

    Rathamar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    94
    29
    23
    IT Professional
    MN
    Just got the notification this morning while I was at work. Problem is I do not have data hooked up to my Sprint Tab so I will have to wait until I get home to update it :(

    Its good to know that Netfix is working Thanks jasonacg

    Has anyone seen any issue with it? Anything new?
     
  13. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    967
    213
    Apparently there is (currently) no way to root the 2.3.4 update. Extremely disappointing to me, but I know it'll change. I'm not upgrading until it does though. It can nag me all day long. I will pretend it's a woman and just tune it out.
     
  14. jasonacg

    jasonacg Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    245
    37
    43
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Well, I did find a minor issue that Gingerbread broke on my Tab:

    In Settings/Applications/Development, the option to keep the device on when plugged into external power, no longer works. The phone will power-off after the idle time is exceeded, whether the option is checked or not.

    Apps that are set to keep the device awake, will still do so.

    Not a big deal, but a minor annoyance. My Epic is doing the same thing on Froyo, but only intermittently. On the Tab, it appears to be a 100% failure of this function.

    No other problems discovered yet.
     
  15. L8AGIN

    L8AGIN Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    142
    19
    58
    maryland
    Yeah, I had noticed that as well, but as you said it's a minor annoyance. One thing that's been bugging me is I can't pair my motorola t501 to the tab. I couldn't do when I was rooted and can't do it now on stock gingerbread. I think the update was supposed to fix hid bluetooth pairing, but I still can't get it paired.
     
  16. L8AGIN

    L8AGIN Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    142
    19
    58
    maryland
    Just an fyi, 2.3.4 has been rooted now over at xda
     
  17. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    967
    213
    Yeah, I saw that late yesterday and updated. I'm now running GB and I can truly and honestly say that for me I have not noticed a single difference.
     
  18. NOMster

    NOMster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    429
    109
    88
    GA
    I thought 2.3.4 was supposed to have video via gtalk. What gives?
     

Share This Page

Loading...