1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support eHRPD = Overheating And Bad Battery Life

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by oldbushie, May 16, 2011.

  1. oldbushie

    oldbushie Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    32
    1
    36
    So, when I first got my Thunderbolt, apparently the eHRPD functionality was down in the Verizon network. Once I found that out, I turned it off so that I could pick up 4G better since it was causing issues with that.

    Recently, I decided to turn eHRPD back on. That was on Wednesday. That same evening, at some point I think the phone started trying really hard to reach a signal, and I think it must have been rapidly switching between looking for 3G or 4G. The phone was overheating and by the time I noticed (I was taking an exam at the time) the battery level plummeted.

    The same thing happened on Sunday as well; I was at a baseball game and when I went for my phone after riding the metro home the phone was really hot and at a low level. In general, it seems having that option turned on reduces battery life significantly, as I consistently got 58 hours (according to the JuicePlotter app) per full charge before switching eHRPD back on (after which it dropped to 28 hours).

    To recap, this is how to disable eHRPD:
    ##778# hit dial, edit mode, password is 000000, modem settings, Rev. A, change to enabled, instead of eHRPD, hit menu, commit changes, reboot

    Also, I do have the latest JuiceDefender beta installed, but that has been on my phone for a month with no major issues.
     

    Advertisement

  2. BeastMD

    BeastMD Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    153
    18
    58
    But isnt it needed for tower handoff?
     
  3. oldbushie

    oldbushie Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    32
    1
    36
    *reads up on it*

    ...not in my case, no. Both 4G *and* 3G are pretty spotty in my area, so there's huge areas where I have neither. It's fairly useless for me until they increase their coverage. Right now, I don't have any applications that require an always on internet connection besides Google Maps (for rerouting anyways).
     
  4. oldbushie

    oldbushie Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    32
    1
    36
    I'm kind of curious if it's also related to the fact that I didn't download the OTA update when it came out. After all I've read on it, I think I'll wait for the next update. :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...