1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Elite vm696 rom??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 5fdprox, Aug 5, 2013.

  1. 5fdprox

    5fdprox Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013

    Aug 5, 2013
    107
    33
    43
    Hey all,Ive been on here for awhile reseaeching roms for the vm696 opt elite and how to do it,and I was wondering if anyone could tell me whats the best rom for the phone? and maybe an updated link to it? Thanks so much!
     

    Advertisement

  2. starkraving

    starkraving Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,484
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013

    Apr 27, 2013
    2,484
    1,363
    323
    Male
    Contractor
    Las Vegas, Nv
    You should visit "The all things root" thread which has a plethora of information. Which can be found here.
    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?t=520236
    Be sure to read and understand the consequences and rewards of a rooted device. As for roms its akin to buying a running shoe ...you have to try a few to get a good fit and mileage. Good luck and welcome to the community.
     
  3. 5fdprox

    5fdprox Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013

    Aug 5, 2013
    107
    33
    43
    Awesome, I went there 4 months ago and rooted my phone the poot way, and now that I'm getting more comfortable with the modding I think I'm ready to custom rom it, bricked my phone bc of clockwork recovery, fixed it and started doing more research about it, would rom toolbox help me instead of clockwork? And thanks for the reply!
     
  4. 5fdprox

    5fdprox Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013

    Aug 5, 2013
    107
    33
    43
    Okay sorry I just read how to accomplish things with cwm recovery... So one question I have, the camera not working issue was fixed on the sleipnir rom? I believe that was the one with the issue...
     
  5. 5fdprox

    5fdprox Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013

    Aug 5, 2013
    107
    33
    43
    Oh and one more question I haven't found on any forum I've read.... My optimus elite is android 2.3,will that change if I add a rom? Like to a 4.0 or something?? Total noob question probably but I'm curious! Thanks to you and everyone that puts their hard work into these, I will make sure to donate!
     
  6. cfreeman90

    cfreeman90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    219
    41
    43
    Male
    Roselle New Jersey
    the "CM9 Beta by "Phenomx4", as well as MIUI by "kenharkey7" are 4.0.4 I believe (Both excellent roms), Read the directions carefully & always remember to "backup" before doing anything else, I suggest reading the "All things root" guide carefully & you should be okay.
    Good Luck
    P.S. "Sleipnir" by "Artine" has a working camera & is excellent as well!!
     
  7. 5fdprox

    5fdprox Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013

    Aug 5, 2013
    107
    33
    43
    Awesome! Made my day! Thanks so much and I'll be posting soon to let everyone know how it went!
     
  8. hanako0114

    hanako0114 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014

    Mar 21, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    sadly, I had more roms available on my 2.2 intercept than the elite.. sliepner is the only one i've been able to download.. others are too heavy or broken links.. id be happy with a mini stock 696 rom.. stock rom - all the bloatware.. dont need themes n this n that.. just a barebone stock rom.. cannot find tho :/
     
  9. riggerman0421

    riggerman0421 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012

    Aug 1, 2012
    205
    57
    63
    Louisiana
    Or you could just install Rom Toolbox from the Play Store and uninstall any system apps you don't want. Just make a backup first in case you remove something important.
     
  10. hanako0114

    hanako0114 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014

    Mar 21, 2014
    7
    0
    5


    apps I'm fine it's the tweaks etc idk about. Hehe. also as stated above. I wondered too
    I have 2.3.7 but the roms above mentioned 4.0.4. is that the version of rom or android?
     

Share This Page

Loading...