• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Embarrasing question

djle9

Lurker
Aug 2, 2013
I'm totally new to smart phones and never understood about downloading apps. I assume if its an Iphone, you have an Istore account. Google account for android phones etc.

I have a Samsung phone and when I first turned it on, supplied my google account. When I search for apps, all I see is Samsung app finder. Is this what I am supposed to use to download apps?

Also is there supposed to be a linked credit card or something to it to be able to download games etc or paid for apps? how do you link it?

I already read the "Please read me first- things to know about android phones". Didnt answer this question.

If there is a guide or link that really explain smart phones for total beginners, I be grateful.

Thanks for your time.

Also, what the google account for on the web? I guess its a place for you to have all your apps in one place and for u to be able to logg onto a phone and have the apps and settings download themselves?

Total newbie sorry.

I dont think it matters but

model phone samsung young gt-s5360
android version 2.3.6 I noticed theres a newer version online -ill figure how to update it later since my phone thinks its on the newest one.
kernel version 2.6.35.7
build number gingerbread

~edit - ok so i signed in to googleplay and tried to download a free app to try to understand things. It says "you dont have any devices"

What do I do. Thanks =|

uploadfromtaptalk1375463853171.jpg

Upvote 0
I'm totally new to smart phones and never understood about downloading apps. I assume if its an Iphone, you have an Istore account. Google account for android phones etc.

I have a Samsung phone and when I first turned it on, supplied my google account. When I search for apps, all I see is Samsung app finder. Is this what I am supposed to use to download apps?