1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Emergency Alert notification settings/volume

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Clementine_3, Sep 19, 2016.

  1. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,591
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    So, I started thinking about this for 2 reasons; the Tasker thread about my night settings (all notifications on vibrate, ringer to the max) and the fact there was an Emergency Alert sent out this morning for NYC (I didn't get it, just got me thinking).

    If I have my notification/media volumes off/vibrate only and an EA comes along, will the 'siren' still sound? Where is that alert tone stored and what setting controls it? I know you can set it to vibrate only or to alert, but where/what is the alert sound and do the regular sound controls have any bearing on it?
     

    Advertisement

    kct1975 likes this.
  2. JaronH

    JaronH Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016

    Jul 3, 2016
    112
    66
    73
    Male
    U
    Alabama
    Hi.

    If you have your notification settings down (and I'm not giving you a definite answer), you'll most likely not hear the alert.
     
    Clementine_3 likes this.
  3. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,666
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    It is an app called Cell Broadcasts. It has a megaphone icon. You can find it in the app manager. It can't be disabled through conventional means........
     
    kct1975 and Clementine_3 like this.
  4. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,591
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Ahhhh! Found it, perfect. Thanks.
    Yup, you can set it to go off as a priority, no matter what. I think. It will bypass Do Not Disturb anyway, should do the same if vibrate is set?
     
    #4 Clementine_3, Sep 19, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2016
    AZgl1500 and kct1975 like this.
  5. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,131
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,131
    3,055
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    On the XPE, go to settings, wireless and networks, more, to find Emergency broadcast menu. See what you have checked there. I keep everything off.
     

    Attached Files:

    Mikestony, kct1975 and Clementine_3 like this.
  6. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,591
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Yeah, I want them to go off (not Amber) so have them set to. I'm just wondering what happens if the phone is set to vibrate?
     
  7. kct1975

    kct1975 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    1,200
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    1,200
    1,053
    523
    Male
    NoVA
    Thanks...that is about the same place I found it on my Nexus 6
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  8. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,400
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,400
    3,144
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    if it is set to Vibrate, it will do just that...
    me? I have mine set to a Siren that can be heard anywhere in the house.

    we have those funny little things that look like funnels, and they can vacuum up your house with all the contents if you don't crawl into a Fraidy Hole.
     
    kct1975, Mikestony and Clementine_3 like this.
  9. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,591
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Let me start again, maybe this got confused along the way.

    I have my EA's set to siren/alert.
    I have my phone set to vibrate.
    Will the siren sound?
     
  10. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,131
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,131
    3,055
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Also check in Sounds and Notifications - Other Sounds - Emergency tone
     

    Attached Files:

    Clementine_3 likes this.
  11. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,591
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Mashable must've known I was wondering and answered my question. Hope they ain't lying.

    [​IMG]
     
    kct1975, Mikestony and Jfalls63 like this.
  12. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,666
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    Now, all we need is an emergency to test it out.
     
    AZgl1500, Jfalls63 and Clementine_3 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...