1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Enable dual window for all apps and possible adoptable storage ( maybe)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xyourxhighnessx, Apr 2, 2016.

  1. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    I was playing around with the build prop and noticed that split window was set to true but the line directly underneath said something about multiwindow support for all and it was set to false by default.

    I set it to true and rebooted.

    Now all apps work with the dual window option

    Lg says you can not. I say you can.

    The line set to true that i have circled is what yours should look like once you change it to true.
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    This is why i believe we can use the adoptable storage option
     

    Attached Files:

  3. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    Anyone know what these do?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015

    Apr 2, 2015
    1,053
    751
    293
    This was all covered in the stickied thread specifically labeled "Build.prop edits" good job finding them on your own though
     
    Krlypumaa likes this.
  5. Izzxy

    Izzxy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014

    Dec 4, 2014
    250
    30
    43
    so what does this mean exactly
     
  6. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    Well thats embarrassing blu8. Lol. I right i was really onto something. Lol

    So someone has tried to turn on adaptable storage?

    Howd it to?

    And anyone know the knock on/off setting? I wonder what that does.
     
    Blu8 likes this.
  7. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015

    Apr 2, 2015
    1,053
    751
    293
    Lol you found on your own, that counts for something right?

    People have turned it on, and they've had some complaints about it. That's mostly on boost Stylo's though, I don't know about the T-Mobile ones, I have chosen to just keep it off as I wouldn't use it. As far as the knock setting I have no clue.
     
    Krlypumaa likes this.
  8. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,006
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,006
    2,037
    693
    Male
    USA
    In the XDA Adoptable storage (LG G Stylo) thread, one Metro user confirmed it works. That's the only person I've seen confirm it works. Don't know anyone else who tried it on a Metro/TMobile phone
     
    Blu8 likes this.
  9. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    I have it enabled. It works just the same as it did previously except it lists all your apps.

    I've had it enabled since i posted this thread and used it with some apps that i couldn't use it with before

    So far no crashes or weird behavior. It works perfectly so far.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    Also about the adoptable storage. Can you link me to that thread/page/post or tell me whats needed beyond changing the. Build prop setting?

    Does the sd card need to be formatted?



    What build prop tweaks have you guys found most useful so far?
     
  11. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015

    Apr 2, 2015
    1,053
    751
    293
    The build.prop edit enables the option. To actually use it you need to format your sd card. Those two are pretty much the most useful ones I've seen. Apart from the one that turns off the navigation bar.
     
  12. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    I dont want to turn my nav bar off but im all for resizing it.

    I feel like there is a little wasted space above the logo for the 3 buttons.

    I really need to get xposed flashed because thats the only way i know to resize them
     
  13. Izzxy

    Izzxy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014

    Dec 4, 2014
    250
    30
    43
    So there is a way to increase internal storage and RAM etc.
     
  14. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015

    Apr 2, 2015
    1,053
    751
    293
    RAM? This isn't magic it's a build.prop edit. You can turn on adoptable storage to use your SD card as internal memory but that's it, it's not going to make your phone a flagship
     
    tube517 likes this.
  15. ghet2rockuu

    ghet2rockuu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    528
    116
    103
    Krlypumaa likes this.
  16. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #126
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    732
    225
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    To the OP, Quick question: which editor did you use to make those changes? I'm strongly considering buying a card to use under MM and use adoptable storage. I'm looking at a few cards that are class 10, U3 and 128 GB.

    Anyone know if the ZV8 update allows users to activate adoptable storage, or does it still require the build.prop edit?

    Thanks in advance! :)
     
  17. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    I used a file explorer and its built in text\file editor. You can find apps on the play store if it makes you feel more comfortable but i find it easy to simply edit the build prop manually.

    Its fairly easy to do. Just dont make changes to things you're unsure of. There's a thread with build prop edits people have successfully used.

    Adoptable storage is activated in the build prop. Its naturally set to false. Change false to true. Reboot..insert sd card and youll have a new option of how to use the sd card. Portable storage is the traditional way of using the sd card. Adoptable storage will be an option as well.

    Go nuts
     
    daffyducknj likes this.
  18. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #126
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    732
    225
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    Thanks. Just to be sure... you weren't rooted when making the changes, correct?
     
  19. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,006
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,006
    2,037
    693
    Male
    USA
  20. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    Yes you must be rooted to access and alter the build.prop file as its inside the syste m folder
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...