1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Enable HSUPA for Bell/AT&T Atrix

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Roze, Apr 27, 2011.

  1. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    Well I think a few of you saw the good news that we can enable HSUPA on our rooted Atrix!

    Check out the threads at XDA:
    Bell Atrix

    AT&T Atrix
     

    Advertisement

    jared1234 likes this.
  2. jared1234

    jared1234 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    129
    8
    36
    B.C. Canada
    So Roze, did you flash the whole telstra sbf or just the radio?
     
  3. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    *scuffs foot against floor* I'm too nervous atm, lol. Not very comfortable with this much 'rooting', lol. Learning how to do a Nandroid backup before I do anything funny, lol. I'm still a root virgin y'know ;) lol.

    Well it's up to you I guess, lol. The Telstra's firmware has been rooted and you have an SBF so that means there will be more development for that firmware. I'm going to do baby steps and try out the radio first, lol.
     
  4. jared1234

    jared1234 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    129
    8
    36
    B.C. Canada
    Lol, well although I have experience rootig and flashing I seem to be in the same boat as you because things seem to be a bit different than with last phone.
    There is abbreviations that don’t know. So im like you,
    I want to learn how to get the recovery and make a nandroid back up. Then I would like to flash the radio
     
  5. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows

    Yeah I asked some friends here that are hard core flashers on what some of the abbreviations meant and they were clueless :/ lol
     
  6. jared1234

    jared1234 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    129
    8
    36
    B.C. Canada
    So i have flashed the Telstra radio modded for the Bell Atrix...

    My down speed is now between 5.00mb - 6.00mb per sec

    and the up speed is capping out at 1.7 mb.

    This compared to before at 2.0mb down max speed
    and 0.30kb up speed!!!!!!!!!!!

    Holly crap its fast!

    Was quite easy too, just downloaded a program called RSDLite 5.0 from doing a quick search on XDA.

    Then downloaded the radio SBF file.

    plugged the phone into my PC, on the phone put it into Motorola Portal mode, and then loaded the SBF file with RSDLite, and 5 minutes later it was all done and ready to test.

    and no i didn't do a backup. I don't think just a radio flash is worth the huge amount of space a nand backup would take on the Atrix.

    Make the plunge and flash it! you won't regret it....probably =)
     
  7. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    Lol, you know you can never go back now ;) Did you root it as well?
     
  8. jared1234

    jared1234 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    129
    8
    36
    B.C. Canada
    hehe =P i just couldnt help myself!!

    As for not going back...that's fine =)

    I'm all rooted up! but i didn't want to flash the full Telstra SBF....wanted my phone to stay as Canadian as possible until someone comes out with a nice clean Rom for our Atrix.

    heheh there is a hidden joke in there =)
     
  9. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows

    Hmmm... how did you do that? I mean I thought you flash either the radio or full SBF. How are you staying partially Canadian with the phone?
     
  10. jared1234

    jared1234 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    129
    8
    36
    B.C. Canada
    Well, because I only flashed the radio instead of flashing the Australian carrier Telstra's rom ...but I didn't want to flash that sbf without having a official Bell sbf file. So I only flashed the radio and not the full australian sbf thus keeping it canadian lol ....except for the radio because I wanted rediculous hsupa speeds =)
     
  11. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,814
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,814
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    Ah, lol yes, that's what I am planning to do. How big is a nandroid backup?
     
  12. jared1234

    jared1234 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    129
    8
    36
    B.C. Canada
    Well I was on Xda and was reading something one of the revs had wrote. Basically if you look at the internal storage, it is a 16 gig drive, and then you look at how much you actually get and you only get about 10 gigs. Well imo 6 gigs is a lot to backup when your only flashing a radio. Plus the fellow said that there are other partitions in the phone which would make the backup even bigger.
    Now im not sure how big because I haven't done a backup yet. But he was saying that for the single purpose of flashing a radio, a backup is over kill and I happen to agree. When an actuall rom comes out that replaces the whole thing ...then I feel its justifieable because now your really going knee deep in horse poo! Lol
     
  13. dezzo

    dezzo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

    Apr 26, 2011
    19
    3
    16
    Roze likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...