1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Enabling/Disabling SIM card

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LizLaz, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. LizLaz

    LizLaz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    7
    1
    6
    Texas
    I called Verizon to get the Unlock code for my SIM card. I will be going out of the country and have read that it would be best to insert a SIM card purchased in England to use while I am there.
    The Verizon rep stated that my SIM card is not activated, but that it could be activated for International Use/Roaming before I leave (definitely don't want $1.29/min calls).

    Does this sound right? Verizon sent my Dinc2 with an unlocked SIM? I have the options in the Security menu to "Set up SIM card lock" or "Disable SIM card lock". From all my reading, it seemed that I 'need permission' to remove the Verizon SIM card.

    Thoughts?

    (Also, I have been a Verizon customer 13 years and a Dinc2 owner 2 weeks)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Chindu

    Chindu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    5
    3
    6
    Under settings/security, select "disable sim card lock" if it's unlocked, you will get a message that says "sim lock is disabled" if it's locked, it will give you the option to enter the unlock code that the verizon folks will give you.
    you can switch between CDMA & GSM mode form the settings/call/preferred networks menu. I just did it with mine last week and I tried a PCCW SIM card I use in Hong Kong and it picks up a signal from AT&T here. Heading to Hong Kong tomorrow to give it a whirl. I don't think it'll be a problem though, I did the same thing with a Storm2 also.
    Good luck!
     
    LizLaz likes this.
  3. Chindu

    Chindu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    5
    3
    6
    to get the unlock code, call global support at 800-711-8300
     
  4. LizLaz

    LizLaz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    7
    1
    6
    Texas
    Ok, great, thanks! So, since it says "Please enter the SIM unlock code to disable SIM lock." I do actually need a code from Verizon. I shall call again.
     
  5. LizLaz

    LizLaz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    7
    1
    6
    Texas
    So, I did call the Global Support line and that rep gave me the unlock code, stating that:
    1. Remove the Verizon SIM card
    2. Insert Foreign SIM card
    3. Type in Unlock Code given by Verizon
    4. Upon return to the U.S., I simply put the SIM card back in my phone.

    Let's hope this works!
     
  6. Chindu

    Chindu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    5
    3
    6
    No need to ever put the Verizon sim back in. You can leave the other one in all the time. Just switch back to CDMA mode.

    Cheers
     
    am_beagle likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...