1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General End/Power button = standby?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JackButler, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. JackButler

    JackButler Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    65
    0
    15
    First of all, love this place! Been figuring out so many things:D
    Ok, the physical key that is the end/power button...a quick press shuts the screen off and it is seemingly off...is this standby then or does the phone have to standby itself?
    I ask because of this exceprt from the manual
    END/
    POWER
    To end a call, press to hang up.
    In standby mode, press to turn off the screen and lock the
    phone.
    In standby mode, press and hold to open the phone options
    menu that lets you turn on/off Mobile network connection, turn
    off the phone, or switch your phone to silent mode, vibration
    mode, or airplane mode.
    :):eek::thinking::(:)
     

    Advertisement

  2. mcbtrain929

    mcbtrain929 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    925
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    925
    129
    113
    ChiTown
    i think "standby mode" is just another way of saying when the phone is just doing nothing (NOT in a phone call).
     
  3. JackButler

    JackButler Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    65
    0
    15
    Yes, I guess I was rambling:>)
    Does it in fact put it in standby??
     
  4. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    1,292
    242
    143
    L'Etoile du Nord
    Yes, press it once and the screen will shut off and go into standby.
     
  5. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    However, press and hold the button for a couple seconds and you get the list of options referenced in the manual.
    Quick press = standby.
    Press and hold = list of options.
     
  6. 5.0

    5.0 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    18
    0
    15
    In the Middle
    It used to be that I could push the button once and the screen would go blank, even if I had something open. When messing around I found an option for what that button does, and changed it so 1 press goes back to the home screen, then the 2nd press will turn off the screen.

    I want to change it back, but can't find it again. Does anyone know how to change it?
     
  7. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    do you have spare parts app? if so there is a setting in there for this.
     
    5.0 likes this.
  8. 5.0

    5.0 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    18
    0
    15
    In the Middle
    Yep, that's where it was. Everything is back to normal, thank you for your help!
     
  9. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
  10. W4LLY

    W4LLY Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    675
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    675
    36
    68
    NYC
    "There's a setting for that"
     

Share This Page

Loading...