1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Epic failure? Where's froyo update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dksnet, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. hayzooos

    hayzooos Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    218
    45
    43
    IT BA
    Chicagoland, IL
    I do not believe EC05 is a major upgrade from EB13. I think the biggest thing is the modem, so yeah, it's worth updating, but probably not something you should be super excited about. I don't think the changes are going to be all that big...

    Sprint isn't releasing a manual upgrade yet as they don't want the same fiasco they had with EB13. I think they slowly rolled it out over the past couple days (which is why so few have it) to see what kind of feedback and issues people are having before they open it up for a free for all.
     

    Advertisement

  2. geronimojr019

    geronimojr019 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    In detroit nothing yet waiting and waiting let's go I want full tilt
     
  3. jonra

    jonra Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    41
    4
    16
    Waiting in Des Moines - nothing yet. I guess we've waited this long, so no big deal, but geez... all the damn hype and issues surrounding this release on this phone - I'm ready to be done with it :\
     
  4. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #96
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    173
    Female
    For anyone who may have been confused about the screen shot/rooted phone post, that was because the screen shot app says it only works on rooted phones, but it works fine on stock phones. :)
     
  5. dksnet

    dksnet Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Well day 3 and still nothing.
    To let you know just how in tune Sprint is, They called me today about an issue I had and they told me that I could update manually from their site.
    I laughed and said could you please look at your computer and find that download and email me the link.
    She said sure and paused. Then said can I call you back. I said okay. Well she called back and said the download should be there. I told her that according to Sprint it's OTA only and she continued to try and convince me to download it at which time I told her to prove to me where I can do such......LMAO
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,752
    823
    Just got the following text (even though I'm on a EC05 based ROM). Sounds like EC05 IS being pushed out.

    [​IMG]



    Maybe I'll jump back to stock so I can get the update.zip for you guys.
     

    Attached Files:

    • text.jpg
      text.jpg
      File size:
      25.3 KB
      Views:
      206
    SurrealOne likes this.
  7. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    757
    113
    93
    Just got it too Kelmar :)
     
  8. magia21

    magia21 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010

    Oct 30, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    just got the same text message
     
  9. hayzooos

    hayzooos Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    218
    45
    43
    IT BA
    Chicagoland, IL
    I just got the same text as well
     
  10. Jebus Christ

    Jebus Christ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    132
    3
    36
    Just got the Sprint ID text. The thing is that I am running DK28. Will I get the update too or will I have to degrade before upgrading?
     
  11. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    757
    113
    93
    Strange the guy that got the EC05 update did not get this text
     
  12. magia21

    magia21 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010

    Oct 30, 2010
    4
    0
    5
  13. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,752
    823
    I wonder if it's just a mass text that has nothing to do with the update release schedule then.
     
  14. SurrealOne

    SurrealOne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    757
    113
    93
    It would seem like a waste of time and effort and bandwidth. Orrrrr just maybe there is more to it. :rolleyes:
     
  15. geronimojr019

    geronimojr019 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Still waiting iam here in detroit can't wait any longer I need it 3pm and still nothing looks like I ain't getting it
     
  16. someguy1984

    someguy1984 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    58
    2
    16
    The only thing I want fixed from eb13 to ec05 is the checkerboard screen while browsing and random force closes. Other than that it's running good. I personally just don't like using dolphin browser HD. I know that fixes the checkerboard issue, but dolphin HD has problems of its own that bother me.
     
  17. someguy1984

    someguy1984 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    58
    2
    16
    Probably because he already has it, lol. I'm sure they know what phones have gotten the update and who to send the massive text messages to.
     
  18. cary328is

    cary328is Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    839
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    839
    427
    123
    Male
    Electrical Engineer working in healthcare
    San Francisco, CA
  19. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,819
    4,752
    823
    Ah hell... I'll take one for the team.

    I just Odin'ed back to stock. If I get the update I'll pull it an post it for you guys.
     
  20. Damar1979

    Damar1979 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    292
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    292
    49
    43
    So far only received a text from sprint talking about sprint id is coming.
     
  21. Jrojas

    Jrojas Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    21
    0
    15
    Student
    Chicago, IL
    I also got it!! But i don't think want sprintid...
     
  22. geronimojr019

    geronimojr019 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    So does the text mean we getting it soon because I don't have it yet
     
  23. chuck95

    chuck95 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    I got the text yesterday, but so far no update...
     
  24. geronimojr019

    geronimojr019 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Got to keep waiting I want the poker so bad
     
  25. hayzooos

    hayzooos Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    218
    45
    43
    IT BA
    Chicagoland, IL
    Sorry to burst your bubble, but the checkerboard is still there in EC05. You dont' have to use Dolphin, there are MANY browsers available which take care of the issue. I personally use Miren, but I would say pick a few, take them for a spin and see what you like best.
     

Share This Page

Loading...