1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Epic goes CRAZY when it's hot out??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Puddin422, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    173
    Female
    So, I'm outside a lot on the weekends at race tracks, and my phone goes nuts ONLY when I'm out in the heat for long periods. Has anyone else experienced this?

    It will sort of freeze, but the screen will bounce a little. It is frozen in the sense that it will not do anything. I am stuck on whatever screen I was on while the whole screen does this bouncing thing. I sometimes can't even shut the screen off. I end up having to pull the battery. :mad:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Gavisann

    Gavisann Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    290
    24
    38
    Wow that's odd. Even in the Florida heat my battery doesn't get any hotter than 110 degress F.

    Is your phone exposed to direct sunlight? What is your battery temperature?
     
  3. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    173
    Female
    It's in my pocket, always. I'll receive a text, go to swipe the screen, and the damn thing is frozen/bouncy. I could sometimes get the screen to go off, put it away, and try again in a few minutes, but other times I had to pull the battery.

    I do not know the battery temp.

    This even happened in Maryland this weekend. It was mid to upper 80s. It seems to be more of an issue with extended periods of heat than just an hour or less in extreme heat. Because it never happens at home where I'm only out in the heat for less than an hour.
     
  4. Psyclone

    Psyclone Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    48
    6
    16
    You might have a rogue app causing the CPU to jack up causing the heat issue. I have observed the heat, and sometimes the instability and the heat issue before, not consistently though. Most often if I was using my browser(Dolphin HD) on a flash based site and/or running a game then quitting.

    Usually if I open the task manager and kill everything except the launcher(I am running LauncherPro), then go to the Ram Manager and do a level 2 clear two times it will resolve the issue. Give that a shot and see how it goes.

    Are you rooted? If so what ROM are you running?

    HTH
     
  5. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    173
    Female
    Urban Regeneration. It was doing it with the previous version, too. It actually just did it tonight, once, and it is not hot out. Hmm. Luckily I was able to shut the screen off, wait a few seconds, and come back to it. It happens usually on the lock screen, btw.
     
  6. Psyclone

    Psyclone Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    48
    6
    16
    I don't know anything about the Urban Regeneration rom. Maybe their lockscreen mod doesn't play nice with your phone. Did you ever notice this on the stock rom? If so it may be a hardware issue that might warrant a re-flash to stock and trip to the Sprint store for replacement/repair, not the ideal scenario I realize.

    Maybe you could try a different rom. I run Syndicate Frozen ROM and it's given me very few issues.
     
  7. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    173
    Female
    lol..I've tried almost every rom. Syndicate soft bricked my phone. I just have a very "special" phone.

    My phone never had this particular problem when it was stock, but it definitely had a lot of bugs, including freezing.
     
  8. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    What is the processor running at with the screen off?

    You can check out the battery temp using BatteryLife widget or similar...
     
  9. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi
    Hey what kernel are you running with regeneration? Or are you still on clean kernel? Since our phones are similar in demeanor, well not quite, yours is way more sensitive than mine, i believe me and one other tester have figured out why this happens, at least with ours after playing around with the v6 supercharger scripts and an app called automemory optimizer, both of which will tweak the kernels memory management. If the threshhold is set to high will definitely cause freeze ups, but that will vary from phone to phone. The low memory tweaks that are used in the kernels(genocide, twilight, etc.) dont always play nice with the more sensitive phones. That and they also have tweaked with the voltages at each frequency and if your phone is such it will also have adverse reactions as well. So the roms may not have anything to do with your issues. I would suggest going to clean kernel and if you so choose use an app like the above mentioned to tweak the setting. That way you have complete control over what is going on. Questions feel free to get a hold of me. Good luck!
     
  10. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    173
    Female
    Clean kernel. I will not try anything else again!!!!
     
  11. Stringyquark

    Stringyquark Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    94
    13
    18
    Are you running your screen at full brightness? Mine does a weird flicker, but only on full brightness. The extra power pulled when turning on the screen could contribute. Just a shot in the dark.

    did you flash with cwm. I couldn't use odin for the longest time. My phone got really goofy, stopped recognizing my phone on the computer and other weirdness. Then I finally found a computer that would recognize my phone in download mode. I think it was one of the gingerbread roms I flashed. Was running way better. If you can use odin try flashing the ec05 stock rom with cwm 3.1.0.1 built in, then get back to how you like it then restore your data.

    good luck.
     
  12. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi

    I thought so but had to ask ;-)
     
  13. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    173
    Female
    My screen brightness is on auto. :) I don't remember which CWM I'm using, but it's whichever one everybody on here was saying had the least problems. That's all I remember. haha
     

Share This Page

Loading...