1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Epic tethering

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by reemas, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. reemas

    reemas Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    128
    34
    63
    Does anyone know if the Samsung Epic can tether for free, not using wifi and the $30 mobile hotspot feature?

    The EVO can do it with USB for free (and legally). I'm hoping the Epic can do the same. Anyone know?
     

    Advertisement

  2. cds0699

    cds0699 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,545
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    1,545
    347
    163
    Shenandoah Jct WV
    I think its a bit to early to know, just got officially announced by Samsung/Sprint, so I don't imagine anyone knows much in that regard yet.
     
  3. woofermazing

    woofermazing Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    177
    42
    43
    If the hardware/software supports it, i doubt sprint would disable it.
     
  4. jimmyz1

    jimmyz1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Im not too sure about that free tethering on the EVO- I seem to remember that you need to pay for any type of tethering with the EVO (assuming you do not root the phone)
     
  5. dandm4life

    dandm4life Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    432
    102
    88
    Customer Service Rep
    Grand Rapids MI
    usb tethering is free on the evo.
     
  6. SebastianX

    SebastianX Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    298
    63
    53
    Free WiFi Tether is already working to port this to the Epic 4G. I had an Evo but I hate lag and it's not just in games try the video recording it sucks.
     
  7. fidelity

    fidelity Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Just dumped by att htc tilt 2 for the sprint samsung epic.

    Where r we w/the whole tethering thing?
     
  8. alansauce

    alansauce Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    74
    7
    16
    using pdanet to tether works perfectly fine
     
  9. bdforte69

    bdforte69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    123
    28
    43
    I can also confirm this. Just go here and download the pda net software for the pc you want to tether with. Also, download the pda net app from the android market. It will guide you through the entire process. Easy as that.
     
    TheKrell7 likes this.
  10. Red_Cheeks

    Red_Cheeks Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    74
    3
    16
    But is it free for sure?
     
  11. bdforte69

    bdforte69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    123
    28
    43
  12. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,613
    165
    143
    samsung has official software that allows you to tether the samsung galaxy s phones for free. Will it work with the epic also? I assume so.

    edit:
    nevermind, I just read that the tethering for Epic has been disabled, so the free samsung method wont work. You can try pdanet from android market but its limited use.
     
  13. bdforte69

    bdforte69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    123
    28
    43
    PDAnet works great and is free. Go try it, then get back to us!
     
    tradejack likes this.
  14. Bmerz

    Bmerz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    103
    8
    36
    I am also considering PDAnet, as well as EasyTether - I know you have to pay to use PDAnet if you want to access online secured sites (banking, credit cards etc.), and I assume there's a fee for EasyTeather to access secure sites too?

    Which is better? I hear that EasyTether is cheaper - but that doesn't mean better. TIA. :)
     
  15. bdforte69

    bdforte69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    123
    28
    43
    PDAnet. Just try-it out bro! Once the trial period expires, you can decide if you want to uninstall it and then try it again. Eventually you will decide whether you like it or not.
     
  16. g0tr00t

    g0tr00t Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    166
    5
    36
  17. littlepr

    littlepr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I just rooted and installed android-wifi-tether on my freshly rooted Sprint Epic using the one-click root developed by the people over in xda-developers forum. Works great! $30.00 are now going to my savings account. One click root for the Epic 4G! v2.2.4 Now has Busybox & remount scripts and: One click root for the Epic 4G! v2.2.4 Now has Busybox & remount scripts! - xda-developers

    The download android-wifi-tether from here:
    android-wifi-tether - Project Hosting on Google Code

    For tethered follow the easytether or pdanet suggestions posted by others here.
     
  18. idamann

    idamann Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    19
    1
    16
    master slave
    Orlando, FL
    I didn't notice that pdanet was a pay program, no biggie, works great for tethering for me,,,thinking of the one click rooting and doing the wifi tethering like said above
     
  19. satguyjim

    satguyjim Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    31
    2
    16
  20. littlepr

    littlepr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    satguyjim, I used this one:

    Samsung Galaxy I7500 1.5 (Cupcake) Download Stable. N/A N/A
    wireless_tether_2_0_5-pre9.apk
     
  21. g0tr00t

    g0tr00t Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    166
    5
    36
    Does the phone get hot using wireless tether? My hero would get really hot...
     
  22. Dori

    Dori Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    1
    0
    5



    Yes you can, When you plug in the USB it give you three options-
    -Charging
    -Mass Storage
    -Tethered Mode

    When you are in tethered mode you cannot use data on the phone
    but you can make calls.

    Hope that helps:)
     
  23. simcha

    simcha Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    436
    165
    78
    Male
    Employed
    Oakland, CA
    OK, I don't get that menu for USB options. Where are you finding this? I plug it in to my USB and then I just have the option to mount or unmount. What am I doing wrong?

    Please help. I'd like to tether through my USB to use the web on my computer through the phone. The Epic should be able to do this right?

    And I downloaded the proper driver from the samsung website, so I know it's not the driver on my computer.

    32-bit windows XP home edition service pack 3

    Oh, and I'm paying for the "tethering" option on Sprint. So it should work. No?
     
  24. simcha

    simcha Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    436
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    436
    165
    78
    Male
    Employed
    Oakland, CA
    OK, a forum member has helped me to find the menu. You have to enable dial-up networking. Now I have this problem:

    I get an error that says:

    DUN: Your phone is locked!

    What does that mean and how do I unlock it?

    I do have the plan that should allow this.

    Help!!! :thinking:

    Edit added: OK folks, it's working now. I had to get customer service to help me. I had to get my computer and my phone talking and the guy who set up my plan at the Sprint Store didn't start my "hotspot/tethering" option until next billing cycle so they had to start it.

    Now it works beautifully fast.

    Thanks for the help Nuclear TX
     
  25. kendermouse

    kendermouse Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    Cat and nerd herder

Share This Page

Loading...