1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support ERASE SD CARD is Grayed Out

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mibtp, May 27, 2012.

  1. mibtp

    mibtp Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    8
    0
    25
    Hi, I deleted a large program from my SD card, yet the space has not been cleared; shows it's still taken.

    When I try to use the feature under settings>storage>SD Card, I try to select the feature to erase everything on the card. But that feature is grayed out.

    Anyone know how to get that to work, or how to get the phone to recognize that nothing is on the SD card? Give it a clean slate, or at least update?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Take it out and put it into A PC. Go to start/computer. Right click on the sd card Icon. Select format. Select format to default. This will take a while to format. Make sure you don't do a quick format if that option is available.
    This will wipe all data that's left. If you want to save any first transfer to a folder.
     
  3. mibtp

    mibtp Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    8
    0
    25
    Thanks for the reply. I actually have a Mac and those steps don't work with my system.

    But I'll figure something out. I actually want to buy a larger GB card. Thought 2GB would be enough. Hardly. Need to find 32GB.

    Thanks again!
    P


     
  4. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    You could try to google: Format sd card on Mac
     
    mibtp likes this.
  5. masonjones

    masonjones Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 28, 2012

    May 28, 2012
    1
    1
    6
    On my phone [Optimus S, Android 2.3.3] I had to choose the "Unmount SD card" option first. Then the "Erase" option was active. "Unmount" option is just above "Erase".
     
    AndyOpie150 likes this.
  6. mibtp

    mibtp Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    8
    0
    25
    That worked! Thank you!!!:D

     
  7. xsqqueezme

    xsqqueezme Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    an individual with an actual useful response that the "master" didn't have. Almost makes you want to ask why did the "master" bother wasting everybodies time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...