1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Eris 2.1 Feature Enhancments

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by triphumphrey, Mar 6, 2010.

  1. triphumphrey

    triphumphrey Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    32
    1
    36
    So, I mean no ill will towards any of the people positing about 2.1, but I am a little tired of hearing the same thing over and over so here are my questions about 2.1.

    Can you create Cisco IPSEC based VPN Connections natively?

    Can you use an imported certificate to create 802.1x wireless connections?

    Can you change the lock-screen wallpaper natively?


    Is there a packaged widget to adjust backlight brightness like there is to toggle wifi bluetooth and 3g? (Answered: superchaos)

    Any posted benchmarks on performance?

    Does the Swype Beta work on 2.1? (Answered:ericDylan)

    Has bluetooth control been improved/fixed in 2.1? (Answered: ofTheDamned)

    Are you able to download/install/generally manage both personal and root certification authority certificates? (Answered:effinay)

    Thank you all you brave souls...

    Trip
     

    Advertisement

  2. tuahogary

    tuahogary Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    144
    26
    43
    Leeds, UK
    +1
     
  3. ericDylan

    ericDylan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    618
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    618
    34
    68
    Full-time Student
    Atlanta, GA
    those there words were confusinin. anyways the only question i can answer is swype beta. yes it works. hope you get your other questions answered
     
    triphumphrey likes this.
  4. triphumphrey

    triphumphrey Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    32
    1
    36
    Thanks for the prompt response. I work in a large enterprise environment ...hence.. .the more complex questions but I dont think I could live without the swype keyboard.
     
  5. triphumphrey

    triphumphrey Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    32
    1
    36
    These may require a little digging so I appreciate anyone that can assist...
     
  6. triphumphrey

    triphumphrey Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    32
    1
    36
    Added another questions regarding 2.1 to my original post. Still looking for answers.
     
  7. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Cisco VPNs are very particular and don't even work with 64bit systems yet. Why you would want to do that with a phone is beyond me, but I doubt you will have much success or continued connectivity even if you were able to initialize.

    As for 802.1x, what would be the reason to do that on a phone? The phone would have to authenticate to a radius server or have port based security. To what end?

    I would merely buy a low end laptop for under $500, keep it light, perhaps even a netbook. That sounds like it would be a whole lot easier and more efficient. Then you can use the phone for important things like making phone calls. jk. ;-
     
  8. effinay

    effinay Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    15
    3
    16
    I'm going to attempt to install a root cert today so I can get my activesync working without throwing security warnings. The warnings seems to only appear after a reboot of the phone.

    I've tried putting the .CER file on the SD and then used ES File Explorer to open it, but the phone doesn't know what to do with the file. I can't remember what I did to make it work on 1.5, or if I even attempted it.

    I'll post results.

    UPDATE: I was able to install a personal certificate (.p12) with no issues. Still trying to install a root cert.

    UPDATE #2: I have not been able to figure out a way to import a CA Root cert at all. I've tried everything I can think of. If anyone has any ideas, please share them.
     
    triphumphrey likes this.
  9. smoked_toast

    smoked_toast Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    Yes- after applying the 2.1 update - specifically bluetooth has improved for me in the following ways:


    • When playing music from my phone over my car stereo, the sound used to suffer from weird pitch and tempo changes, which made the music sound TERRIBLE. There were also small gaps of silence. All of that is now fixed and audio over bluetooth works perfectly.
    • Connectivity to my car stereo is automatic now. I used to have issues with my phone not auto-connecting wheneever the phone was in rage.
    • Call quality over bluetooth is noticeably better for me as well.
    With 1.5 my biggest complaint was the issues with bluetooth, which have all been fixed. Couldn't be happier.
     
  10. triphumphrey

    triphumphrey Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    32
    1
    36
    I want to be able to connect to my place of work using their IPSEC based vpn servers. I am able to connect to this type of server with Windows 32 or 64 bit, Mac, Linux, and iPhone. I am unclear what part of the process leads you to believe that it would have connectivity issues unless of course the android phone just does not support it.

    The reason is similar to the one mentioned above. I want my phone to be able to access Intranet resources within my enterprise. Furthermore, you do not need either of the methods you mentioned above for authentication if certificates can be used on the android phone.

    I have two laptops and two phones. I do not need an additional item to tote around. While i realize it was a joke....making phone calls is the least frequent reason I use my eris.
     
  11. triphumphrey

    triphumphrey Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    32
    1
    36
    Are you now able to use the voice command function from your headset to make a call?
     
  12. smoked_toast

    smoked_toast Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    I'm not using a BT headset, just a bluetooth car stereo with a built-in microphone for dialing / talking. But I can say that voice commands do not work for me over it after the update, although they never did before the update either.
     
  13. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    This is a global Android issue and has not been addressed for any phone so far. We can all keep our fingers crossed for 3.0 I guess.
     
    triphumphrey likes this.
  14. GoenMo

    GoenMo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    88
    0
    15
    Dude. its a phone! Not a portable IT department. :p
     
  15. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Wow, do tell. I can't get my Cisco VPN client to run on Win7 64bit. It's simply not supported by Cisco at all. I thought you said Cisco VPN earlier but maybe I was mistaken.

    I'm sorry, but I don't know why you would want this little, itty bitty thing to connect to a corporate network when you carry 2 laptops. Not bustin' ya, just wondering. Maybe I'm missing something I should be doing too.
     
  16. triphumphrey

    triphumphrey Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    32
    1
    36

    Naw man I like the conversation. I run an internal XMPP server and I woudl liek to be able to access it from home without having to vpn in on my desktop. Just as an example.
     
  17. jmastron

    jmastron Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    46
    6
    16
    In fact, BT Voice Dialing is being actively ignored by Google (listed as a medium priority enhancement for well over a year; no updates from Google and all attempts to file as a bug get merged with no comment), and is the second most starred issue with Android:

    Issue 1181 - android - [VoiceDial] Voice confirmation for Voice Dialer - Project Hosting on Google Code

    Feel free to go star it some more. I love my Eris, but this is a major defect that virtually every other phone supports (including iPhone and most 5 year old dumb phones). I almost returned it over this, and I still curse it every time I have to fumble to get it out of my pocket, hit 3-4 keys to dial, and have to leave it on the seat (where I forget it half the time) because the screen is still unlocked. And I only make a few calls a week in the car...

    It does appear that the Blueant Q1 headset has its own speech recognition and speed dialing that may work with the Eris; I'm going to get one to try.
     
  18. effinay

    effinay Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    15
    3
    16

    I got it to work... it took A LOT of playing around but it seems to be working. On our CA, I ran MMC and added the snap-in for certificates for both personal and local computer. While browsing through one or the other, I was able to locate the Root CA Certificate that had the keys included. I exported that file and included the keys and saved it to the desktop. When I did that, it allowed me to save it as a .p12 file, which CAN be installed on the Eris using Menu --> Settings --> Security --> Install from SD. After the import, make sure you selct the option for "Use Secure Credentials" in the same menu.

    I'm not sure if this is the correct procedure for any of this, but I seem to have been able to get it working. No more security warnings in the Exchange sync or when visiting OWA in the browser.
     
    triphumphrey likes this.
  19. maddog015

    maddog015 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    48
    0
    15
    Can't you just use google voice dialer? Or does it not work like that?
     
  20. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    Not through the bluetooth headset. You can hold the phone up and press the green call button and use voicedial, but we want to hit the button on the headset while the phone is in our pocket or purse and have it ask us who to call.
     
  21. r2d2

    r2d2 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    46
    2
    16
    My experience with bluetooth has been great.

    Prior to the upgrade, any Google contacts that I had that was only company named (no first or last name entered, just company) would only show blanks on my car's bluetooth. Also, sound quality was bad. Couldn't understand anyone that called me. And they couldn't hear/understand me...

    After the update to the leaked 2.1, any entry without a first and last name (just company) displays correctly - no blank entries. I can use the hands free in the car now. Sounds good.

    No way I'm going back to 1.5 (even if I could).
     
  22. dirtmouth

    dirtmouth Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    361
    6
    36
    Corpus Christi , Texas
    after installing the leaked 2.1 i can only take calls and hang up now. no voice and no LNR for some reason.
     
  23. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    I really miss that feature and it's ridiculous not to be built in and working even better than the dumb phones. One plus is that I can now use voice search while the bluetooth is connected. Before, I had to turn the bluetooth off to even be able to hold the phone up to my mouth for the search.

    I have a Motorola S9 stereo headset and it constantly asks for a pair request in which I have to enter 0000 to get it to connect. Is it just my headset?
     
  24. r2d2

    r2d2 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    46
    2
    16

    There's a setting in the bluetooth area (on the phone) to always grant permission to this device. Look there - if not, I'll check in the morning to let you know...
     
  25. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    I believe it is the correct procedure. However, I just bought a wildcard cert from one of the big boys, costs about $199 / year and every warning went away. I don't even get them on my browsers any longer. That was such a royal pain.
     

Share This Page

Loading...