1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Eris 2.2 Sense Rom?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dc3324, May 3, 2011.

  1. dc3324

    dc3324 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011

    Apr 23, 2011
    25
    2
    16
    Any Froyo Roms out there for the Eris that have HTC sense?

    If not i will probaly stick with my Evil Eris 4.0 Rom because even though it's only 2.1 it has HTC Sense which is a must for me

    I had KaosFroyo but i don't like the launcher it comes with
     

    Advertisement

  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,269
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,269
    23,508
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    I think there was someone tweaking on a Sense-based version of Froyo, but what you probably want is xtrSense:

    [ROM][GPL][3/15/2011] xtrSENSE5.0.1 [cache2cache,apps2sd,oc,jit]-HTC Sense - xda-developers

    Evil Eris is pretty ancient as ROMs go and xtrROM (non-Sense) and xtrSense are two very good, highly-regarded ROMs.

    Read the thead and check it out.

    Cheers!
     
  3. metlcat

    metlcat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    547
    221
    93
    Law School Student
    There are some, but they are all missing various things like wifi, camera, etc. I don't know if the developers are working on them much now, but here are the links.

    [ROM][BETA] EnergyExpressoXDA v2.2.1.0.022 12-11 (Sense 2.2,Smartass,Cache2cache) - xda-developers
    {beta 10 rom}Tazz Sense Froyo/ 11/19/gps/wifi/powerdown fixed - xda-developers
    [ROM]KaosLegendary V.19 [10/05] [OC] [SENSE/Froyo] [CFS] - xda-developers

    There may be others as well. If you're looking for a ROM that is going to have everything working, none of these will be right for you.

    Edit: And Scary is right about xtrSense, that might be worth giving a try.
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,696
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,696
    1,928
    483
    +1

    Let me also point out two other advantages of xtrSENSE:

    - cache2cache gives a lot more space for user app installs and data - a lot more space. The last time that I tried Evil Eris I was left with about 10 MB of free storage - with xtrSENSE I have over 50 MB right now.

    - xtrSENSE 5.0.1 includes the changes made by the March OTA update delivered to the Eris.

    If you truly are looking for a change and need to keep Sense, you cannot go wrong with xtrSENSE.
     
  5. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
  6. dc3324

    dc3324 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011

    Apr 23, 2011
    25
    2
    16
  7. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,696
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,696
    1,928
    483
    I've been thinking about getting an Incredible 2 as my next phone (in part for the world phone features - I may be traveling a lot in the next couple of years) and decided to see if Froyo Sense was better than 2.1 Sense - particularly with the calendar. I just get all sorts of calendar issues with stock Eris Sense.

    Anyway, I flashed this last night. It felt like it wasn't overclocked - very slow for me. That said, the calendar does look better (and the DInc 2 is running an updated Sense anyway, so ...). When I tried to update some apps from the market, the phone was unusable - I think that the Eris is just too limited for Froyo Sense perhaps.

    Anyway, for anybody who must have sense, I would stay away from this and just stick with xtrSENSE.

    (By the way, I heard last week that Sense 3.0 on the HTC Sensation has a /system partition that is over 700 MB. If that is the case, unless somebody takes a lot of time to find the wheat and delete the chaff, there is no way at all that it's coming to the Eris, or even something like the Incredible. Holy bloated, Batman!)
     
  8. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    i agree that people that only want to flash 1 rom and never mess with their phone again will want to avoid it,but i dont know its completely fair to make the general statement to stay away... IMO its still fun to try it if your bored in an afternoon and enjoy messing with your phone,espeically since i had quite the opposite experience with it. it was laggy during the intial sync(as most roms are) but afterward it was smooth as glass. i ran it a whole day when it was my only active phone. calls and texts worked fine,it wasnt any slower than xtrsense(tho i cant say it was faster).i didnt have any problem downloading apps. it didnt force close anything,it it didnt have any spontaneous reboots.

    in fact the only reason i took it off was the nonfunctional camera(unless you like your pics to be fuzzy and multi-colored ;)) if that had worked id have run it a couple of days. unfortuntely the camera will prolly keep any 2.2 or 2.3 sense roms from ever bing DD status :(

    my TB came with sense 2.0,and im not familiar enuff with sense to be impressed with it... the UI didnt feel much different to me at all than the sense 1.0 on my incredible. i played with a sensation port that wasnt worth much... due to the resolution difference everything needed resized and nothing worked very well. now,i did play with an extremely functional mytouch 4g port wich has "espresso" sense... and i hate to admit it was kind of neat(i am NOT a sense fan :p). if the doubleshot port ever becomes DDable id run it- the TB will eventually get a 2.3 update,but prolly not sense 3.0,and definatley not espresso(its a mytouch thing)
     
  9. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,696
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,696
    1,928
    483
    Like I said, I had about five apps that in the market with updates, I did an update all, and the phone became unresponsive to anything. I've never seen anything like that before. Home did not take me home, for example, but eventually popped up a wait/FC message for the market. As always, YMMV.

    xtrRCMix has espresso. [ROM][GPL]Tenzo's xtrRCMix- Sense2.1, OC, A2SD, Cache2Cache, LWP [11-18-10] - xda-developers

    I haven't run that one for a while, but I recall it was a fine ROM.

    I used to hate Sense, but I've come to realize it was the slowness of stock, and not Sense itself. Sense actually has some really nice bits - most of all the toggle widgets are just great.
     
  10. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    i agree,some of sense is nice... i can see why people are attracted to it. i dont really hate it,i just dont prefer it. i never ran my eris on stock,so my dislike is not because of that. my incredible was fast,and worked well and i ran it stock for a couple days(as i did my thunderbolt) before rooting it.

    on my inc,i would run sense roms for a couple days at a time,but always found myself back at cm7. i really kind of wanted to like it since i like htc phones so much,but its just not me... i really just prefer plain vanilla android(with a couple of CM tweeks :p)

    they still havent completely figured out the RIL for the TB,so still no real AOSP roms yet. even the "Desensed" ones still pretty much look and feel like sense,and its drivin me nuts. theres a pre-alpha cm7 out now,and while its smooth and functional,its got some issues,the worse of wich being it sucks the battery down like nobodys business :eek: its really hard for me to be stuck on 2.2 with my TB while even my lil eris is running 2.3. who knows? if i was at least on 2.3,maybe sense espresso or 3.0 would entince me to stay with it for more than a couple days at a time!

    thanks for the info on the xtRCMix... if i had known that it was espresso sense,i have very effectively forgotten it,lol. ill have to load it up and see how similar it is to my doubleshot port(forgiving the differences in 2.1 vs 2.3) :)
     
  11. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,696
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,696
    1,928
    483
    It's been a while since I ran it, but I think the default is normal Hero/Eris 2.1 Sense, but I think it has espresso Rosie as an option.
     
  12. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,696
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,696
    1,928
    483
    Ok, just installed Tenzo xtrRCMix and it looks EXACTLY like the Sense in that Froyo Sense above.

    I just had a spontaneous reboot, though, so we'll see if I stay with it.
     
  13. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    i just loaded it up... it is a neat rom. i like the lockscreen,especially. :cool: i havent played with it too much,but so far looks like its just an espresso type launcher...

    check out the screenies here(this is a mytouch 3g rom):
    [Rom][32A][6.35] sfm 0.30 (Android 2.3.3, new Sense) (21 April 2011) - xda-developers

    then there are a couple screenies on my TB thread:
    {WIP}Doubleshot & Sensation Ports [Sense 3.0, Android 2.3.3] - xda-developers

    on the first screenies check out the pull down tab. on the second,check out the rosie launcher that you can personalize with 3 things in the middle :cool: and also the nifty lock screen... you take that ring and pull it up from the bottom. i like it :D
     
  14. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,696
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,696
    1,928
    483
    One thing about Tenzo xtrRCMix - the power off from holding down power does not work - it'll leave you having to battery pull. Power off from the Quickboot app works, or the reboot option in the power long-press menu will let you reboot to Recovery, and you can power off from there.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  15. bustedukulele

    bustedukulele Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    27
    0
    15
    I flashed this xtrmix after I saw the discussion about it... and youre right.. it's pretty solid. One question I have though, when I'm not using WiFi the icon on my status bar says Ev instead of 3G. Just wondering if this is just part of the ROM or if i am having coverage issues.
     
  16. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,696
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,696
    1,928
    483
    Verizon's 3G network is a technology that they call EVDO, so it's just the same thing with a different label. As I said in another thread, I started having weird things happen with the ROM - some apps were laggy and did not respond well to touch, and the automatic backlight wasn't working right, in addition to the inability to power off without a third-party app. Otherwise, it was very solid.
     
    bustedukulele likes this.
  17. bustedukulele

    bustedukulele Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    27
    0
    15
    Yeah I'm still messing around with it. I haven't noticed anything yet. I'm still new to HTC and I am loving sense. I just wanted to mix it up after using xtrsense for awhile.
     

Share This Page

Loading...