1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Eris has terrible connection.... Always???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Guitarman, May 1, 2010.

  1. Guitarman

    Guitarman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009

    May 22, 2009
    41
    0
    15
    Does anyone else have absolutely terrible coverage all the time? About 90% of the time I have one or no bars of service. And my 3g connection is always awful. I'm starting to think its just the Eris because I've had other phones with Verizon and have had very good coverage with them.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    It's likely just the signal indicator. It's a known problem. You can check your actual signal strength by going into settings, about phone, network.
     
  3. Guitarman

    Guitarman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009

    May 22, 2009
    41
    0
    15
    Under signal strength it says -75 dBM, is that bad?
     
  4. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    No, that's not too bad. Mine fluctuates between -65 and -80 at home. The closer to "0", the better. So -65 is better than -80. The best I've ever seen is -58. If you start to get near -100, then you'll begin having connection issues.

    If you check it once in awhile, you'll notice the inconstancy between your actual signal strength and the indicator.
     
  5. smacky

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,844
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    2,844
    299
    163
    Call *228 and do both option 1 and 2. That should help a little bit.

    Also, make a call and then look at your signal then. It's accurate during a call.
     
  6. Guitarman

    Guitarman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009

    May 22, 2009
    41
    0
    15
    Thanks, yea mine is about -65 to -80 also.
     
  7. eriscentro

    eriscentro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    97
    3
    16
    I'm at -87
     
  8. Guitarman

    Guitarman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009

    May 22, 2009
    41
    0
    15
    In my basement I just got like -92.
     
  9. eriscentro

    eriscentro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    97
    3
    16
    I did a *22899 and went from -87 to -93 :(
     
  10. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Signal strength changes constantly and is affected by weather, the structure you're in, and other interference in the air.

    Updating will only help you if new towers have been added near you since your last update.
     
  11. Guitarman

    Guitarman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009

    May 22, 2009
    41
    0
    15
    I did one also and it didn't get any better.
     
  12. gruss

    gruss Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,411
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,411
    116
    163
    IT
    Toledoish
    Actually false, updating will only help you if your in a roaming area. If they add a tower in the same sid your phone will grab it. If your on a borderline area and they open up something new I guess it could help.
     
  13. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Yes, that is what happened to me. I live on the fringe area between Alltel coverage and VZW coverage. Now that they're one in the same, it doesn't matter, but before it made a difference for me when Alltel would add towers.
     
  14. SirEagle

    SirEagle Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    712
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    712
    81
    78
    Akron, Ohio
    I'm always around -90 in my house and have never had a dropped or missed call.
     
  15. T-Keith

    T-Keith Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    397
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    397
    33
    43
    89 db in my house. Coverage is actually better then my old phone(samsung juke). Coverage is pretty good and don't have any holes or dropped calls near my home or work. I'm sure other phones may be better though.
     
  16. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    I'm showing 2 bars right now and my signal strength is -68. Did a 3g speed test and it shows 1.5 mb down and 862 kb up.
     
  17. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    I'm showing 1 bar of service with -66 dBm. Every once in awhile a 2nd bar will light up. I've never run 3g speed test.
     
  18. Guitarman

    Guitarman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009

    May 22, 2009
    41
    0
    15
    How do you do a 3g speed test?
     
  19. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    Search for speed test in the market.
     

Share This Page

Loading...