1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Eris Locking Up !

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rdalev, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. Ataranine

    Ataranine Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    I've emailed HTC about it, and this is what I said:

    I'll be emailing them ALL week until I get a good response.

    Here are the screenshots of the signal changing after I send an SMS:
    [​IMG]
    Switched to 1X, after the message was sent.

    [​IMG]
    Then switched back to 3G


    My signal STAYS on 3G all day long. Every day. Except for when I send or receive an SMS.




    EDIT: Nevermind I guess I didn't send a damn thing:
    Error


    Sorry, but either the page you were looking for can’t be found or we are having a problem making it come to life.

    You might want to check out our Site Map for a full list of pages available on this site
     

    Advertisement

  2. iandroidian

    iandroidian Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    This is day 4 since my first and only lock-up issue on two eris phones and both have not experienced any lock-up issue since then.
     
  3. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Nice job grabbing those screen shots. I have to learn how to do that. Mine changes every single time as well. I like how your pictures show that your bars of signal strength changed too.

    My 1x/3g changes a few other times throughout the day (when there is no reason to), but text messages cause it the most.
     
  4. rejester

    rejester Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    I uninstalled about a week ago, a couple days after the update. I have not had any issues since, knock on wood. I had fiddled with a lot of things after the update to try and figure out what was making it lock up. I had also uninstalled The Weather Channel app, this ALWAYS loads on it's own when you do a off/on on the phone. So it could very well have been that weather app that caused my issues as well. I'm not saying this will work for you, I just know it's worked for me.
     
  5. Peaser

    Peaser Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    103
    8
    36
    I got the update within 24 hours of its rollout and (while I'm almost afraid to write this), I haven't had any issues at all. I do turn off my phone completely each night and then restart it in the morning. Not sure if that has anything to do with it. I only use the pre-installed text message program. (not handscent or chomp). I have about 25 different apps installed including Battery Idicator, Brightness level, PhoneMyPC, PowerManager, and TaskPanel.

    It's been fine with phone calls, apps, text, battery life, etc.

    I also only use the swipe to unlock the phone (not the menu button) and I am very diligent about only swiping at the bottom of the screen. Not sure if that has anything to do with anything, but just my experience.
     
  6. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    I think you are onto something here. I have started to turn my phone on and off at least once every other day, and I have not had anymore freeze ups either (it's been over a week). I wonder if it has something to do with memory? The phone is also more responsive. I haven't removed any apps (I use The Weather Channel, calwidget, etc..) either.
     
  7. Ataranine

    Ataranine Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    So I got a response today from HTC.

    All they tell me is to contact their tech support line. >_>
    Typical automated response.

    Alls ya gotta do is enable USB Debugging from Settings>Applications>Development and open DDMS.exe in the tools folder of the Android SDK. :)
     
  8. AmbientBlu

    AmbientBlu Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    25
    4
    36
    NYC
    I didn't post that HTC response with the intention of giving people a link to e-mail customer service. I simply copied and pasted the entire response I got from them so people would know they are answering.
     
  9. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    I got my Eris a week ago, have the OTA update, and have spent dozens of hours on forums and with friends' Android phones (particularly my friend's HTC Hero). These are my findings as far as stability problems with my Eris. I cannot speak for those who are having problems with NO extra apps installed. My Eris seems to do just fine in this scenario. That said...

    1) Handcent SMS does slow the phone down, and some parts of it tend to not work very right, both in coordination with 'Auto Backlight', and when other apps are running.
    -In the Settings, there is a 'blur background' setting that will, once in a while, make the phone freeze (I can repeat this process).
    -In the Settings, there is a Pop-Up option. There is a lot of potential for freezing when the Pop-Up option is allowed to pop up and light up the screen when the Lock Screen is on. Simply disabling this will solve a lot of peoples' freezing issues (this has been the virtual entirety of my involuntary freezes).

    2) TasKill, or another task managing application is necessary, especially if you don't reboot your phone every day/few days. These phones are computers. The 'phone' applications are simply small parts of that software that make the phone work. Computers need to be rebooted, and at the very least, even with such a lean operating system, tasks need to be managed.
    -I use TasKill to auto-kill when the screen is OFF. It's in the Settings. Use an 'Ignore' list to leave on programs that you want to stay on. Some things like HTC Sense, TasKill itself, and I leave com.htc.provider on 'ignore' too.
    -If things are slowing down, or if you have, say, <20M of memory left at the moment, once in a while a 'Kill All Tasks' is helpful. Open up TasKill, and click the red icon at the top (or use the Task Kill Widget, like I do)
    -Even if you don't Auto-Kill, or don't pay attention to how much memory is available (I use the 'Task Bar' widget installed with TasKill), go ahead and open up TasKill and Kill All Tasks once per day. They will start back up. Even the important ones will be just fine. But your free memory will shoot up to about 90M, and only the programs your phone needs will start up, until you start them all fresh.

    Remember guys, everyone and their brother is writing these programs (since programming in Java isn't that tough), and nobody is perfect.

    To maintain best stability:
    -Try to download apps one at a time (and play with them for a bit, in the midst of normal phone use, to make sure they play nice with everything else),
    -Manually turn your screen off with the red button, instead of automatically (sometimes when things happen, like a Handcent SMS event, right as the screen is about to dim, your phone will freeze)
    -Kill All Tasks or reboot regularly. More if you use your phone more. (I kill all tasks when screen is off, and have 0 stability issues, with OTA update)


    I'm very attached to a) my Auto Backlight, and b) Handcent SMS compared to the stock Messaging client. It's way too fully featured, the pop-ups are hard to beat, and the customizations are necessary for my privacy purposes (having a girlfriend...) But Handcent tries to do things with the auto dimming and auto screen-on that Auto Backlight doesn't seem to like. So turn off the features for your phone, or turn it off for Handcent. If you want stability, you have to choose!

    I hope any of this helps someone. I've spent a lot of time figuring this out to the best of my ability. I've had to take my own battery out four times already to reset involuntarily, and a 15+ times making it freeze on purpose by setting all these settings. Good luck!
     
  10. Ataranine

    Ataranine Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Right, do a factory reset so I can lose ALL my stuff again.

    I have like 4 apps installed. And I'm quite sure Verizon had no say in whether it SHIPPED with 1.5 or not.
     
  11. AirPirate

    AirPirate Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    37
    5
    36
    Pilot
    Atlanta
    Locked up during a "send" operation on native Facebook app. Did a "force close" to get out of the Facebook blank, illuminated, screen. Then received a text and phone locked up while trying to open text message. I got busy and put the phone down but planned to do a reset when I could get to it. About one hour later, I picked up phone to reset, but everything was back to normal. This happened a few days after the OTA update.
     
  12. Ataranine

    Ataranine Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Email em. Keep doin it until we get a response we like. Screen shots make it all the better too.
     
  13. Ataranine

    Ataranine Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    LMAO check this out..
    This is at least the 10th time it's happened...TODAY
    [​IMG]
     
  14. jazzkeys

    jazzkeys Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    Got my Eris 11/30, worked perfectly. Update caused total freeze-up of screen lock. Took it to the store, they couldn't get it to work. They did a hard reset, still didn't work. Replaced phone. New screen lock doesn't work, and now the GPS locator is wrong all the time. Is there a fix in store? They are replacing my 2nd Eris. I'm expecting more of the same.
     
  15. Ataranine

    Ataranine Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Contact HTC. Demand they give us the update sooner. XD
    Either that or contact Verizon's Tech. Support and tell them the same thing.
    We're gonna get satisfaction damnit.
     
  16. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    Remove all of your open widgets and change your background picture. If that works, then put one thing back at a time until your stability returns. Sense UI doesn't like something about your screens.

    See if even just changing scene to a stock one provides the same problem. It's surely another process that if you had TasKill you could assess. But removing the widgets is in attempt to kill whichever process it doesn't like. As well, changing the background picture in case it is corrupt, or your droid doesn't like part of the .jpg (or whatever) file.

    I hope that helps
     
  17. athenssmile

    athenssmile Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    41
    0
    15
    Does the lock up discussed include a message similar to "the process android.process.acore has stopped unexpectedly"? I had this happen to me three times after the update. I did the hard reset each time and didn't want to wait for the fourth time, so I exchanged the phone for a new eris on Friday. I downloaded apps this weekend and got the phone set up the way I want it. Then I switched the slot index, allowed the phone to reboot, and now I have the same issues. My phone gives me the same message when I press the "phone" button, rendering my phone to paperweight status. Another message that comes up reads "process com.google.process.gapps has stopped unexpectedly". It knocks out my service. The only option I have is to do yet another hard reset, then activate my phone again. Ihave just about had it with the eris.

    Am I experiencing the same problem as everyone else or is mine a different issue?
     
  18. Ataranine

    Ataranine Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    If Sensefail doesn't like something about my screens, then it's the software's fault. I'm not changing my stuff because widdle Sense can't handle it.
    Thanks for trying to help though.
    By the way, I get a similar error even when Sense is disabled.. something about Touch input force closing.
     
  19. Ataranine

    Ataranine Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    LMAO My Eris is locked up right now as I'm typing this..I'd grab a video but I have no camera at the moment.. this sumbitch is goin back to the store as soon as I can go..

    EDIT: Grabbed my brother's phone and shot a video.. I'mma force the dudes at Verizon to watch it too.
    If anyone wants to see it I'll upload it to JewTube.
     
  20. RC Addict

    RC Addict Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    257
    2
    56
    Truck Driving Madman
    El Paso, TX
    Do you have a link or the title of the vid?
     
  21. RC Addict

    RC Addict Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    257
    2
    56
    Truck Driving Madman
    El Paso, TX
    Never mind. Found it right off...
     
  22. Ataranine

    Ataranine Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    You found MINE? If not I'll link you.
     
  23. RC Addict

    RC Addict Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    257
    2
    56
    Truck Driving Madman
    El Paso, TX
    Yep. Found yours. First in the serch "Eris locking up".
     
  24. Ataranine

    Ataranine Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    xD Good, good..
     
  25. bjf88

    bjf88 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    384
    37
    43
    Well, my lock up issues must have been a random fluke. It hasn't locked up once in the last week or so. Knock on wood.
     

Share This Page

Loading...