1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Eris Root Newbie, I Need Help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DavidG6, Feb 21, 2011.

1. DavidG6

DavidG6 Newbie
    None

Feb 21, 2011
    Hi everyone!
    First off, I am a newbie to the Android forums!
    Second off, I am not computer/Eris/Root/ROM savy at all, so please bare with me!

Situation - I have the Droid Eris. I love it, and sometimes hate it! I will have this phone for another year due to my Verizon contract. After looking through these forums, I realize if I want to get the best from my little Eris, I'm going to need to ROM this guy (especially for another year). However, I have no Root/ROMming experience, and not very computer savy, and I was wondering if someone can give me a little step by step. It is currently still using the factory Android 2.1.

I want to use the GSBv 1.6 ROM ([ROM] GSB v1.6 | GingerBread 2.3.2 [CM7.0.0 RC1 NIGHTLY][2-18-2011] - xda-developers) for my Eris. I just love the look and what it has to offer. Buuttttt -

1. How do I root it? Do I go online with my Eris with the browser to this page and click on the ROM Download?
    2. Where do I go after that? I just have no clue... :(
    3. Will I loose my contacts and pictures? I love the pictures, videos, and contacts I have, and on this thread in the link it says I must clear everything...but I want to keep it! Help!
    4. Would I have to redownload my apps?
    5. If other versions of this room (1.7, etc) are released, is it an easy upgrade?

I mean, and that's really it. Sorry if this is much.
    I'm excited because I really want to root my Eris to GSB v 1.6! Just don't know how...please help a fellow Android friend that doesn't know much.

Thank you everyone!

Advertisement

2. Bob Cat

Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    VIP Member
    None

Nov 17, 2010
    Midland's, South Carolina
    I'll try to help before the big guns chime in.:D