1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Error backing up Google apps

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Masema, May 27, 2011.

  1. Masema

    Masema Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    20
    12
    18
    I just got a custom recovery image installed on my Optimus V, and I am trying to do a complete backup before I proceed to trying out new ROMs.

    I did a nandroid backup, and that worked fine. When I did "Backup Google proprietary system files", it did not present any errors on the device, but it also didn't seem to copy anything. (It only took a few seconds, and I couldn't find anything on the SD card.)

    So I checked the recovery log, and found an error :(

    I have attached the complete log, but here is what I think the relevant pieces are:
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. Backup Google proprietary system files?
    3. Press Menu to confirm,
    4. any other key to abort.
    5.  
    6. Performing backup : .mount: mounting /dev/block/mtdblock1 on /cache failed: Device or resource busy
    7. .Skipping odexed apk /system/app/NetworkLocation.apk
    8. .
    9.  
    10. Backup complete!
    Any ideas on how to correct this? I haven't been able to find anything similar in my searches (is my Google-fu weak?). Could the problem be caused by the fact that I'm running a recovery.img that is for the Sprint version instead of VM?
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    All you need is the nandroid.
     
    Masema likes this.
  3. Masema

    Masema Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    20
    12
    18
    Ok, thanks :)

    Does that mean the google apps are included in the nandroid backup? I figured that the Google backup option was for ROMs that didn't have them, so I thought it would be best to back those up too, just in case. But as long as I can get back to what I have now using my nandroid backup, I should be good to go :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...