1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Error Downloading from Android Market

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lilRikki, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. lilRikki

    lilRikki Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    63
    10
    18
    I'm getting an "<App name> could not be downloaded due to an error" when I try to install an app (any app) from the Android Market on my device and then the app gets stuck in the "Downloading..." section under "My Apps" but doesn't appear to be downloading and I can't stop it (or any of the other ones that have queued up there). However, I am able to download them from the browser based market to my device.

    I have tried on both the network and wifi. I have also tried clearing the cache of the Android Market app and clearing data from my Download Manager.

    Anyone else having this issue?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,756
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    2,756
    554
    313
    Male
    Jr. I.T. Support Tech @ Amazon
    Plainfield, Indiana
    That seems strange, maybe try to pull battery out and let it sit for 30 seconds before putting back in.

    Also maybe try and factory reset your device.

    Settings - backup and reset- then factory data reset

    Just a suggestion that might help.
     
  3. JWellington

    JWellington Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    16
    2
    16
    I am having the same issue. It all startee after i decided to root my phone. Shucks.
     
  4. lilRikki

    lilRikki Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    63
    10
    18
    Thanks for the suggestions! I tried a battery pull and that didn't work. I'm going to wait a bit and see if I can find or hear anything else on the matter, I'd like to leave a factory reset as a last resort......
     
  5. lilRikki

    lilRikki Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    63
    10
    18
    My bootloader is unlocked, I haven't got root yet though.
     
  6. JWellington

    JWellington Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    16
    2
    16
    Unfortunately i think a factory reset may be the only option here.
     
  7. lilRikki

    lilRikki Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    63
    10
    18
    I think you may be right, but I'm going to sleep on it and hope it fixes itself in the morning. ;) I have enough of the necessary apps to get me through the day but if it's not working by the time I get off work tomorrow, it's getting reset.
     
  8. lilRikki

    lilRikki Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    63
    10
    18
    Still having issue after Factory Reset.
     
  9. jaybea830802

    jaybea830802 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009

    Jul 24, 2009
    90
    10
    18
    Manchester, UK
    I've been having the same problem after flashing a custom ROM. It might be a Google server issue, but I rebooted into Recovered, wiped the Cache and rebooted and it is now working. I only wiped the Cache so all applications and data were untouched, so it is worth trying. YMMV of course!
     
  10. lilRikki

    lilRikki Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    63
    10
    18
    Thanks for the tip, I'll give that a shot after work.
     
  11. jaybea830802

    jaybea830802 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009

    Jul 24, 2009
    90
    10
    18
    Manchester, UK
    I can download apps, but I can't buy them - "an error occured when creating your order". Grrr!
     
  12. jaybea830802

    jaybea830802 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009

    Jul 24, 2009
    90
    10
    18
    Manchester, UK
    I cleared cleared Market data (Settings|Applications|Market|Clear Data). I can now purchase apps again!
     
  13. JWellington

    JWellington Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    16
    2
    16
    I am still having this issue, even after a factory reset; I am beggining to suspect that this is because the Google servers block you if you are trying to install apps to two places at the same time; in my case, my Droid X was still operational; I am going to try resetting the thing and seeing if that helps my case.
     
  14. lilRikki

    lilRikki Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    63
    10
    18
    I'm still signed in to Google on my Droid X as well, but you should be able to have multiple Android devices on one Google account.

    Let me know how that goes.....
     
  15. JWellington

    JWellington Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    16
    2
    16
    Resetting both phones did nothing; issue pops up on BOTH devices; this is definitely not device related. I am going to contact Google and see what they say.
     
  16. lilRikki

    lilRikki Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    63
    10
    18
    Booted into recovery and wiped the Dalvik cache, still not working. I'm probably going to attempt to contact Google as well.
     
  17. lilRikki

    lilRikki Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    63
    10
    18
    I am now able to download from the Android Market without issue.

    I had also created a post about the download errors over at XDA. Another user there who was also having issues found this. Apparently there is a 24 hour limit as to how much you can download.

    I'm guessing that this was my issue given that downloads started working roughly 24 hours after I first started getting the error.
     
  18. JWellington

    JWellington Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    16
    2
    16
    Hahah how funny because that user was me :p
    Yea i still havent hit the twenty four hour window yet.
    I will post back and see what i get.

    I was actually bothered enough to take the logcat off both phones!

    Glad it worked for you !
     
  19. lilRikki

    lilRikki Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    63
    10
    18
    LMAO! Dude, that's too funny!

    Anyways, Google got back to me on my support request suggesting I do everything I had already done. I replied that it was working again and asked a couple questions about bandwidth caps, I'll post back any info I get from them.
     
  20. lilRikki

    lilRikki Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    63
    10
    18
    The Googles got back to me, here's their response: any changes to
    your bandwidth would be related to your phone carrier. So, it's possibly
    something you'd like to discuss with them.

    But it didn't work on wifi either, so now I'm really confused.
     
  21. Dubbin1

    Dubbin1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    1,525
    969
    233
    N/W Ohio
    FYI I had this same issue with my OG droid for a couple days last week, I don't think this has anything to do with the phone.
     
  22. djcs219

    djcs219 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    90
    35
    23
    Outside Sales
    Central NJ
    did anyone who was having this issue get it to start up downloading again? I am running into the same issue and don't want to return my phone.
     
  23. Slushy40

    Slushy40 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I also tried the market clear cache to no avail. But! I may have found the market (-101) error fix. Hope it works for you too. I have a Galaxy Nexus running the stock ROM and I didn't want to do a factory reset. Go to Settings-Accounts & Sync-then tap your gmail account. on the top right there is the settings for this account. Select remove account. You don't lose any settings or any data this way. Then go back to Accounts & Sync and add that same google account back on your phone. That fixed that darn error for attempting to install/update apps from the market for me. Hope it does the same for you. ;)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...