1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Error message

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by RASelkirk, Feb 11, 2018.

  1. RASelkirk

    RASelkirk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #548
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015

    Oct 27, 2015
    72
    18
    28
    Male
    Retired!
    SETX, USA
    Hi All,

    I just installed P.I.A.'s VPN on my (T-Mobile) phone and now the phone will no longer do WiFi calling. When I toggle the "WiFi calling preferred", it looks good for a minute or two, then: Error: ER081 "Unable to Connect". When I stop the VPN, it all works as usual.

    So, what exactly does this error mean and how to fix it?

    TIA!

    Russ
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,001
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,001
    33,160
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    This isn't really a G6 question per se, so I'm moving the thread to a more general forum where more eyes can get a look and hopefully get you an answer.
     
  3. RASelkirk

    RASelkirk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #548
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015

    Oct 27, 2015
    72
    18
    28
    Male
    Retired!
    SETX, USA
    Thanks!

    Russ
     
  4. Ctx

    Ctx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2018

    Jan 29, 2018
    2
    2
    16
    Male
    Trance DJ
    NH,USA
    Hey do you know how to access developer options on your phone? If not here's how to do so.. Go to settings select the about phone option. Scroll down to Build Number tap it seven times. It will now say you are a developer. Now get out of the about phone option and it will say Developer options above it. select Developer options. Turn on developer options Enable Aggressive Wi-Fi to Cellular Handing. If this doesn't fix your issue try Selecting (USE Legacy DHCP client this may also help. I hope this works for you. If not give me an update and I can do some more digging for you.
     
    lunatic59 likes this.
  5. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,361
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,361
    2,466
    608
    Illinois
    From your description you have the P.I.A VPN app installed on your phone so it's just being applied to just your phone, yes? Just to clarify, you do not have P.I.A installed on your router so it applies to everything connected to your home network.
    Their Play Store page has a support contact email address:
    helpdesk@privateinternetaccess.com
    Might be worth just sending them a message, hopefully there's just some setting(s) in the app that needs to be changed to enable things like WiFi calling to pass through properly.
     
    lunatic59 likes this.
  6. RASelkirk

    RASelkirk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #548
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015

    Oct 27, 2015
    72
    18
    28
    Male
    Retired!
    SETX, USA
    I have the "developer options" section in my settings section. I tried ticking the aggressive handover box and it didn't help. I cannot find the legacy DHCP anywhere. So, still not working...

    I've been working with PIA, but they are a lot slower than users in the forums.

    Russ
     
  7. RASelkirk

    RASelkirk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #548
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015

    Oct 27, 2015
    72
    18
    28
    Male
    Retired!
    SETX, USA
    Well, guess it's a no go. Will uninstall PIA...

    Russ
     
  8. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,361
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,361
    2,466
    608
    Illinois
    A VPN is generally a good thing to have set up on your phone. If you left it installed, is disabling/enabling it just for WiFi calling a viable option?
     
  9. RASelkirk

    RASelkirk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #548
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015

    Oct 27, 2015
    72
    18
    28
    Male
    Retired!
    SETX, USA
    It prolly would, I'm just frustrated that none of this high tech ch!t ever seems to work according to plan. I have PIA on my home 'puter and cannot send e-mail w/o disconnecting first. Can't see my modem or router "homepages" yet can get to all of my networked stuff. I'm old and not as sharp as I once was, but I've dealt with computers longer than most readers in here have been alive! So, gotta ask, WTF? Pay good money for half a product...

    Russ
     
  10. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    3,361
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    3,361
    2,466
    608
    Illinois
    VPNs are a proven technology with a long history. Maybe try a different one, that you can try out first before paying for anything. Or perhaps it's time to just hire a contractor to get a functional VPN implementation set up for you.
     
  11. RASelkirk

    RASelkirk Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #548
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015

    Oct 27, 2015
    72
    18
    28
    Male
    Retired!
    SETX, USA
    PIA has no clue why it's not working. They had me diddle just about every setting in there to no avail. I'm beginning to think I should have stayed with a Samsung phone...

    Russ
     

Share This Page

Loading...