1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Ethernet?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dropnbassonu, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. dropnbassonu

    dropnbassonu Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    75
    16
    18
    Curious what the ethernet setting could be used for....any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Wired on via Ethernet to microUSB adapter?
     
    tehsusenoh likes this.
  3. dropnbassonu

    dropnbassonu Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    75
    16
    18
    Gotcha, why would I ever need to hook ethernet up to my phone?
     
  4. biker128pedal

    biker128pedal Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    86
    3
    16
    Engineer
    Eastern VA
    If Wifi and 3G/4G are not available and you have a wired connection. I have stayed in a few hotels like that. :eek:
     
    dropnbassonu likes this.
  5. bcltoys

    bcltoys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    705
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    705
    47
    68
    Male
    Marine tech
    Maryland
    Have you done this with your phone and might this work on a droid X.
     
  6. tjreishus

    tjreishus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    746
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    746
    94
    88
    Airline Pilot
    Another option that would free you from cables would be to go with the travel router. I know people who travel a lot use this.

    Travel Router

    This would definitely work with the X
     
  7. ChrisAFitz78

    ChrisAFitz78 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    7
    1
    26
    Forest Park, IL
    I was thinking that it could be used by the HDMI ethernet channel. Its possible that it means your tethered devices could be connected via HDMI rather than USB.

    I haven't tried it, but it would be interesting to see if someone connected the Bionic to a device that supports it via HDMI to see if the setting becomes enabled, and what it does.
     
  8. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
  9. dropnbassonu

    dropnbassonu Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    75
    16
    18
    I bought the micro-hdmi cable from monoprice last week and will try it tonight and report back. Good thinking!
     
  10. dropnbassonu

    dropnbassonu Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    75
    16
    18
    Nope, no dice! Hooked up the microHDMI to my TV and didn't have any luck with the ethernet setting changing from being grayed out and disabled
     
  11. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I got a pair of them coming in by week's end....

    I think, though, that this i a setting that has been disabled by VZW. Like they used to do in the past, blocking native phone features before selling the phone to the public....
     
  12. ChrisAFitz78

    ChrisAFitz78 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    7
    1
    26
    Forest Park, IL
    That's not good news... What TV did you plug it in to? Did you get the ethernet to work with that TV and other HDMI devices before?
     
  13. sonny3g

    sonny3g Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011

    Dec 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Electrical Designer
    Michigan
    This would have enormous industrial implications. Soon I will be going to a work site to commission some equipment and it would be very beneficial to be able to connect my Android phone or tablet to a PLC via an ethernet cable for diagnostic purposes.

    Being able to carry a small device around a factory floor to access machine PLC's via a standard web browser over ethernet would be fantastic.
     
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Yeah, if we can figure out a) how to unlock it, and b) how to actually get it working.
     

Share This Page

Loading...