1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

EVDO-Only a bad idea?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dcdttu, Oct 21, 2009.

  1. dcdttu

    dcdttu Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    217
    36
    43
    Nerdy stuff
    I put my phone to EVDO-only because I thought my phone was having issues staying on EV, as it would go to 1X all the time. I read elsewhere on a post on howardforums that CDMA phones (specifically the Touch Pro and I guess now the Hero) need 1X to make calls and receive txt messages. Sure enough, when I put my phone in EVDO only, I could no longer receive calls or texts.

    So why, I wonder, is there even such an option? It basically becomes data-only.

    Anyone else experience this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Aldo Junior Ao2

    Aldo Junior Ao2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    Sep 28, 2009
    398
    65
    53
    All cdma phone need to go to 1X to make calls or send text. evdo is just for data. Leave it on hybrid and do you have it on sprint only or automatic. Some have said leaving it on sprint only helps.
     
  3. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    6,135
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,135
    3,791
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    leaving it on Sprint only will lessen the battery load because the radio will only talk/listen to sprint only networks.
     
  4. dcdttu

    dcdttu Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    217
    36
    43
    Nerdy stuff
    Thanks for the reply guys. It's now set to Sprint Only, and Hybrid.
    So far, phenomenal battery life today.

    Yay!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...