1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root EVERYTHING FC'ed and had to reinstall everything

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by neoshi, Jun 5, 2011.

  1. neoshi

    neoshi Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    399
    53
    53
    Running stock rooted froyo (via unrevoked) and woke up to my bright ass screen last night about 4AM showing Sprint Zone updates along with a refresh icon up top. Hit home thinking it had just somehow updated itself and realized all my widgets were dead (you know when they show the "reloading..." messages). BUT none of them ever came back. In fact, when I went to my app drawer to access some programs, they ALL FC'ed. Lo and behold, Market seemed to have been reinstalled too. It's almost as if a hard wipe had been done but without actually doing it. Oh, and it's not because of the 2.3 update since I have the updates turned off and we have to authorize the initiation anyway.

    Anyone experience this before? Any ideas on what's going on?

    Such a pain in the ass because I have to reinstall everything and redo my screens.

    Thanks in advance.

    P.S. Oh and some of the built in processes even FC, like the application management process, which in turn causes EVERYTHING else to FC. Even after reinstallation. Sounds like a hard reset is in order... !@#$!

    And now trying to boot into recovery and I have the 5 vibrations + green LED blink. Think this one is toast?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    moved your thread to the rooting section.
     
    neoshi likes this.
  3. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Do you still have s-off in hboot? What hboot version do you have? What recovery were you running before? CWM or Amon RA?
     
    neoshi likes this.
  4. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    And are you using an sd partition at all? (darktremor a2sd)

    I have never had what you describe just "happen" while the phone was on. I have had the phone crash and restart to exactly what you described. Unfortunately I have no explanation for you, and the only fix was to restore a nandroid
     
    neoshi likes this.
  5. neoshi

    neoshi Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    399
    53
    53
    thanks for the replies and the move guys.

    the phone is always on when i plug it in at night when i go to bed. it could very well have restarted, as it has been randomly restarting recently for no reason.

    s-off is indeed still there. it's still rooted, just that everything FCs. but wifi tether, SU, all the good stuff still work.

    the only apps2sd type stuff i do is to move the dev enabled apps to sd, but nothing else. the odd thing is now when i move all my apps to sd, it always fails the first time, but succeeds the second time.

    i did a hard reset and the FCs are gone. the failure to move apps to sd the first time is still there, but im assuming this has more to do with pre-existing app folders being there. still worried this will happen again.
     
  6. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    so can you get into recovery?
     
  7. neoshi

    neoshi Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    399
    53
    53
    oh yeah.. i can't. still giving me 5x vibes + blinking LED when holding vol up+down and power to get into bootloader.. :( my only choice then it so battery pull and boot regular.
     
  8. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    wait so no hboot either? power off and press and hold vol down what happens?
     
    neoshi likes this.
  9. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    Very bizarre...waiting to see what other details come to light.
     
  10. neoshi

    neoshi Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    399
    53
    53
    just tried it again. worked. guess it's user error :p for some odd reason i remembered having to press both vol up and down, but it's just down like you said. up makes it go into debug im guessing, which is why it does the 5 buzz + led.

    hboot 2.10
    cwm v2.6.0.1

    well at least i can just flash the rooted gbread i guess.
     
  11. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Yeah volume up does that and yes you can if you have s off still
     
    neoshi likes this.
  12. neoshi

    neoshi Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    399
    53
    53
    yeah.. wish i knew what the heck caused this huge annoyance of a wipe though. :(
     
  13. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok glad you got that figure out. so do you have recovery still? if so you can try wiping cache and dalvik cache and see if that helps.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...