1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Evo 3D Software Update Coming August 23rd (rolling out now)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ArmageddonX, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,773
    1,281
    323
    Regarding the Camera Shutter sound This is what I've heard from HTC so far:

    I'm tough to contact by phone as I keep mostly overnight hours, but if anyone else with shutter sound problems wants to contact HTC and speak to them over the phone during business hours it might be helpful? I told them they could continue to email me as that would work best for my schedule. I also replied and floated 2 possible ideas for causation: Maybe the update imports your last camera setting and then you are stuck with it depending on what it was set to pre-update, or maybe the screenshot sound and camera shutter sound are being confused by the programming somehow?
    Who knows if either one of my random ideas have any merit. Hopefully HTC will help get to the bottom of things. This is one of those minute details that can be really annoying to deal with.
     

    Advertisement

    marctronixx likes this.
  2. jlear3

    jlear3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    77
    17
    18
    Anyone notice decrease in signal strength? Maybe its just me, or maybe just the storm today, but all night I had horrible service at work when I usually get 2-3 bars.. Maybe my prl/profile? any ideas?
     
  3. natorade93

    natorade93 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    201
    15
    38
    Software Testor
    New York
    I still have 1-2 bars in my bedroom. which is a little better than before (before was usually just 1), but i also just saw it drop to none wich doesnt normally happen so not sure if its better or worse. But i think better because most of the time its staying on 2
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  4. mricketts

    mricketts Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    16
    2
    16
    Did you try deleting the original pairing in Sync and completely starting from scratch with both Sync and the phone? I had a simlar problem a couple years ago.
     
  5. jdsingle

    jdsingle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    760
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    760
    181
    93
    Darn you. I don't even see an option to turn off the shutter sound on this phone. Read else where that you do it by keeping audio profile on silent. Any truth to this matter?
     
  6. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Go to camera app, push menu button, scroll down to shutter sound, uncheck.
     
  7. jdsingle

    jdsingle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    760
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    760
    181
    93
    That's exactly what I did and it isn't there.
     
  8. JimKnuckles

    JimKnuckles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    560
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    560
    207
    103
    I was alerted that there was a new system update last night. I downloaded it and immediately noticed that my icons were finally Sharp and clear. Not fuzzy looking at all. This was one of my complaints when I first got the phone.

    Also seems as if they've fixed the bug with the icons showing the regular android symbol rather than the specific symbol for each app.
     
  9. ymmie

    ymmie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    131
    50
    53
    The option is gone on mine as well. Thankfully I had it turned off before the update and it kept that setting.
     
  10. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Odd...but I'm still on 2.3.3. Maybe they changed it on 2.3.4
     
  11. jdsingle

    jdsingle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    760
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    760
    181
    93
    They must have. I emailed HTC about it. Seems like we always win some and lose some with these updates. If you're bothered by lack of shutter sound capabilities being turned on or off please email them.
     
    natorade93 likes this.
  12. jdsingle

    jdsingle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    760
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    760
    181
    93
    I'm glad that worked for you. Do you still have shutter sound ability to turn off in the settings under camera?


     
  13. Hec

    Hec Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    4
    2
    6
    In general, I'm noticing smoother performance (e.g., scrolling, launching apps, etc.) after the update; running stock ROM and intend to keep it that way.

    Unfortunately, my biggest gripe -- poor Sprint signal reception (much worse than my TouchPro2) -- remains. Without Roam Control (good Verizon signal at my work) and the free Air Rave Sprint gave me for home, it would be practically unusable for data, aside from using Wi-Fi and wasting more battery.

    Aesthetically, I noticed they changed the highlight/accent color (e.g., msg count circle, browser link selection highlight & progress indicator, etc.) from blue to green, and I'm liking it; gives it more pop, IMHO.
     
  14. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    You do realize that wifi uses less battery than 3G, right? It's like a game of pitch and catch. When your friend is only a few feet from you, it doesn't take much effort to pitch the ball back and forth. But when both of you are 50 feet or so apart, it takes more effort to pitch the ball that distance. Same goes with wifi / 3G (4G, too). Your wifi router is in your house. The cell phone tower isn't. That is why wifi takes less power. It doesn't have to transmit at a high enough power to reach a cell phone tower that could be over 10 miles away. Your 3G radio does. 4G also eats your battery because, not only does it have to transmit to an antenna that could be miles away, but it has to support higher bandwidth.
     
  15. rmonty

    rmonty Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 7, 2011

    May 7, 2011
    33
    16
    18
    Engineer
    Rockwall, TX
    Just realized my is doing the shutter sound even when set to silent. Bummer. Not a big deal, but it is a little annoying. Might try doing a hard reset.

    Ryan
     
  16. ProfeZZor X

    ProfeZZor X Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    267
    62
    53
    Sprint/HTC sent me a software update this morning. It took about 10 to 15 minutes in total, but I was doing other things to get ready for work to sit down and watch what was going on. It's too early to know what those updates were, or if they're apart of the updates that were referenced in the original post, but I'm sure at some point I'll see what those changes are.
     
  17. RTWODTWO

    RTWODTWO Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    17
    5
    16
    Motor City
    Yes. I reset sync back to factory new and started from there.
     
  18. jdsingle

    jdsingle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    760
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    760
    181
    93
    Let me know how it goes.
     
  19. Averix

    Averix Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    7
    2
    6
    Be careful. I had my shutter sound turned off before the update too. It was still off after, but then I did a reset to default on the camera to test the green hue issue and now I have no way of getting rid of the camera noise that has returned.
    If the preference was written in the file to not have the noise, it's still obeyed. Once that preference is wiped out, there's no way of putting it back. Ug.
     
  20. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,380
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Never hurts to update PRL and then Profile, in that order, after any update.

    Mine is actually a tad better.

    Don't trust bars if you're in a situation with a dodgy signal - get Open Signal Maps, free in the Market.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  21. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,983
    Posts:
    20,227
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    20,227
    10,147
    1,983
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Yes it is the same update referenced in this thread


     
  22. RTWODTWO

    RTWODTWO Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    17
    5
    16
    Motor City
    After unpairing and pairing my phone at least twenty times with sync (it would pair but wouldn't connect), I looked on syncmyride.com at my account and it showed an update for my sync so I tried that as a last ditch effort. Don't know if was the Evo 3D update or something messed up in the sync, but my phone now works with my Ford Sync again. These computer things are enough to drive you totally nuts. :eek:
     
  23. Vipfreak

    Vipfreak Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    383
    32
    53
    Spoke too soon I guess... lock screen doesn't work the first time everytime... :\
     
  24. natorade93

    natorade93 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    201
    15
    38
    Software Testor
    New York

    This is exactly what i had said above :) icons look clearer
     
  25. HuDuVuDu

    HuDuVuDu Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    21
    2
    16
    one thing I just noticed with this update, is the captive buttons dont auto light. I was watching a movie and noticed they were not on. I held my hand over the light sensor and they lit. Upon locking the screen they turned off, then after unlock they stayed unlit until in the dark.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...