1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Evo 3D Software Update Coming August 23rd (rolling out now)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ArmageddonX, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,671
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,671
    4,412
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    yes the update will indeed show up again.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Androidalltheway

    Androidalltheway Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    322
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    322
    40
    43
    Male
    FL
    After reading about the update, been thinking bout going back to the evo 3d, since the update has the audio been increased? is it noticeably faster?
     
  3. z50king

    z50king Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    126
    21
    38
    Student, Student Assistant
    Upland, CA
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,983
    Posts:
    20,214
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    20,214
    10,140
    1,983
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I was just going to ask you how you got this to work as i have tried and it did not work for me, and then I saw your edit at the bottom of your post, maybe we should bombard HTC with emails about this, that is the best way to get things done with them. IMO



     
  5. toddpedersen

    toddpedersen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    152
    68
    53
    No, it is still not working like it did on the original EVO 4G, but then I got to thinking, that in all reality, when the phone is in sleep mode and you get a call you want to ignore, you can simply decline it to send it to voicemail. My thinking is that HTC feels that the only time you should be sending a text message to the caller is when your truely on the phone (which does in fact work) or if you happen to be using your phone in some fashion, when you get an inbound call.

    For me, I like the option to be able to control my phone as I wish, and not as HTC thinks I should, but it is what it is.

    I reported this to them when GB 2.3 came out and they told me that it would be chagned in a future update, so maybe the squeeky wheel gets the grease so to speak. I am all for everyone reporting this to them if it gets it fixed.

     
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,380
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    This has been going on for a long time, including with the Evo.

    Yet another reason to root - or go to Settings, About phone, Tell HTC and turn it off.
     
  7. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    On my Evo 3D, there is no "Tell HTC" option after about phone.
     
  8. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,983
    Posts:
    20,214
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    20,214
    10,140
    1,983
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Umm what firmware version are you on??


     
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,380
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Depending on the root path taken, the Tell HTC option may not appear.

    Note that suggestion was the OR path to being rooted. ;)
     
  10. DarkMage619

    DarkMage619 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    28
    6
    16
    I used to have any HTC mirror app before I updated to this latest software version. I used to an app that turned on my front facing camera to make sure I am still looking good. Now it's gone! Is there a way I can get it back? Thanks.

    The Dark One
     
  11. mak916

    mak916 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,240
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    1,240
    288
    163
    Male
    Sacramento, CA.
    If you still want to use the mirror app go to your search button on your home screen and type in mirror. It will then appear. But for some reason it is not listed in the apps.
     
    DarkMage619 likes this.
  12. mak916

    mak916 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,240
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    1,240
    288
    163
    Male
    Sacramento, CA.
    Its on my phone.
     
  13. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    Ah, danke. Didn't realize that that the rooted update files actually removed this... :)
     
  14. lightYear

    lightYear Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    7
    5
    6
    A quick report about the shutter sound - I am not rooted, was never rooted. I always had the option to have the shutter sound off, OFF.

    After the update I took some photos one night and noticed the shutter sound. I was annoyed and went to look at the option to shut it off and found it gone... that's when I found threads on forum after forum about the missing option after our phone update. I remember that night trying to mute all the sounds in my phone but the camera shutter sound was still there.

    Last night I took some photos and the sound was gone. I played with the settings back and forth, setting the volume on and then turning them all off. No matter what I did the sound was gone. Very strange - I prefer it off but without knowing why it came back and is now gone I can't be sure it won't sound off when I don't want it to.

    I kind of want to believe what others have suspected, that if you had it OFF BEFORE the update, it retained that setting unless you used the default option at some point after the update - but again, my sound was always off, came on after the update, and is now gone again.

    I tested it about four times this morning and no matter what sound setting I had the shutter sound never returned. However, with the new native screenshot option if the phone is on silent, there is no sound... if I have the volume on the screenshot has the shutter sound. Very inconsistent in terms of the shutter sound with this update...
     
  15. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,773
    1,281
    323
    I wanted to follow up on this for everyones sake. I persisted with requiring email conversation and I reached past my initial contact that said they HAD to call me and got to their escalations team by mail and this is what they had to say on the subject (Excludes my side of the interaction):

    It is pretty easy to contact them and get through to them, and the best part is they have a track record of listening to us the end user. So if you are looking to get rid of that pesky shutter sound take a quick minute and send HTC a message regarding it please.
    (I'm thinking of breaking this out into a new topic with a poll, if there is no objection from the mods or anyone)
     
  16. jdsingle

    jdsingle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    760
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    760
    181
    93
    Haha, I just contacted them too about this. I hope enough of us will comment on this to them so that we can get it back.

     
  17. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,983
    Posts:
    20,214
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    20,214
    10,140
    1,983
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Wish people would do the same for the sound volume which I have asked many to complain about, I even opened a thread and people have complained over at HTC forum thread I created and still all they say to me is they have not had any complaints about that, I referred them to the thread and they said they do not go to the forums too often.
     
  18. jdsingle

    jdsingle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    760
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    760
    181
    93
    I have.
     
  19. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,183
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    It is smart of them to put native screenshot onto these phones imo, 1. Because it should've been there in the first place, it's not rocket science and 2. Because it keeps some percentage of people from rooting just to get this feature, and to some degree I am included in that. I <3 to post screenshots and that's my first reason to root. Now I don't really feel like making the effort...yet.
     
  20. CarrieK

    CarrieK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    784
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    784
    424
    113
    Information Systems Analyst
    Nashville, TN
    I agree that was a smart move on their part. Afaik this the only Android I know of that does this natively without root. I take screen shots a lot. For example, when I pay a bill on my phone I take a screen shot of the completed transaction with confirmation number and payment details and save it. Believe me, it has come in handy a few times.
     
  21. evolution3d

    evolution3d Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    219
    45
    43
    Sprint Technician
  22. adze39

    adze39 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    After doing this software update, every single app I've downloaded does not let me move it to the SD card. I've tried 10+ different apps so far. Yes, it can be pure coincidence but I never had this problem until I did the update.

    Anyone else having this problem?
     
  23. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,671
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,671
    4,412
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    ive moved every app i had to the card and had no issues. using a 32 gb sandisk.

    are you rooted?

    did you do a factory reset?

    first post ive seen on this dealing with the update...

    good post by Mod Early Mon:

     
    CarrieK likes this.
  24. mak916

    mak916 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,240
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    1,240
    288
    163
    Male
    Sacramento, CA.
    I noticed when I updated the other day that certain apps would not move to the sd card. I think it is the apps that have some data still in internal memory. If you didn't have these apps on the sd card before you updated, you might not be able to move them. Example of what I am talking about is the Equalizer app. I did not have it on my sd card when I updated. The option to move it was removed after the update. I did have it on the sd card when I first downloaded the app and then decided to put on the phone. After update I could not put it back on the sd card. Yesterday I went to the Sprint store to have my phone repaired. They came me another phone . The phone did not have the update on it. I redownloaded the Equalizer app and others and moved them to the sd card. I updated. They are still on the sd card with option of putting them on the phone. The update seems to lock in what you already had on your phone before the update. Just my thoughts. Have you tried removing these apps and then reinstalling them?
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  25. Androidalltheway

    Androidalltheway Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    322
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    322
    40
    43
    Male
    FL
    can anyone confirm that when you got the update, the audio quality is better then what it was, and that call quality is more clear, or is it the same?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...